New Year’s (Writing) Resolutions!

I know it’s already a little more than a week into 2014––but I didn’t start this blog until yesterday, so … Happy (belated) new year, everyone!

I thought it would be a good idea to come up with some writing resolutions for the year, especially because I didn’t get as much accomplished in 2013 as I might have liked to. I did finish the first draft of one manuscript, but I’m not sure if I’m going to continue with it because I didn’t feel much enthusiasm for it. However, I did start my current WIP, I Chose the Monster, which is one thing I’m happy about.

But anyway, on to the things I hope to get done yet:

– Finish my first draft of I Chose the Monster. I wrote the short story version of it back in 2012, and started the novel version sometime in the spring of 2013 I believe. So, it’s been quite a while. But in the past month or so I’ve been making a lot of progress on it, and I’m hoping to get the first draft done soon-ish––maybe before the end of March or so.

– Revise, revise, revise! After I finish my first draft of ICTM, I’m hoping to start going over it and rewriting it … then sending it out to a few beta readers for feedback, revise some more, etc. I tend to eventually give up with this process, but I’m hoping that with this book things will be different.

– I’d like to at least start drafting a query and synopsis for ICTM. I kind of doubt I’ll be ready to start querying by the end of the year, but I would like to at least start thinking about it.

– Start my first illustrated novel! My college has this process where, during our fourth year, we work on independent year-long projects of our choice. So, I’m planning to write and illustrate a book for mine. I’ve never really illustrated my own work before, so I’m really looking forward to it. I won’t officially be starting this project until September, but I will start planning it soon!

– At least attempt NaNoWriMo, even though I’ll probably be extremely busy when November rolls around. But I’ve won for six years in a row, and I would love to keep my streak going! But I think for NaNo ’14, I’ll be slightly less ambitious than I was for NaNo ’13 … This past NaNo, I put too much pressure on myself to write something awesome and I ended up hating what I was working on, so hopefully that won’t happen again.

I think that’s about it! Hopefully during 2014, I’ll be able to finish at least some of the above things. Hooray!

Anyone else have writing resolutions for 2014?

4 thoughts on “New Year’s (Writing) Resolutions!

  1. I hope resolutions work better for you than they do for me. I tend to avoid them like the plague. As soon as my brain hears me announce them it pretty says, “Cool. We’re done then, right?”

    But as far as WIP goes, I have a sequel, a novella, and a new novel in rough form which I managed to squeak by finishing just before 2014 happened. I have a lot on my plate to keep me busy, and I certainly hope this year is more productive than 2013.

    1. I tend to have mixed results with resolutions … That is, if I make a bunch of resolutions I might not end up doing all of them but I’ll end up completing some of them. But usually I end up accomplishing things I didn’t expect at the beginning of the year, so it kind of balances out I guess. If anything, I think it’s interesting to get to the end of the year and see what I thought I was going to do vs. what I actually ended up doing. 🙂 Good luck with your writing in 2014!

  2. Good luck with your resolutions! I broke mine down into daily, monthly and yearly goals, to keep me on track and accountable. The major, daily one is to write something every day, which is going really well so far. It helps that I have the #WriteChain Challenge to keep me motivated!

    If you’re going to be busy during November’s NaNoWriMo, why not give April and July’s Camp NaNoWriMos a go? Let me know if you’re taking part! I’ll add you to my Cabin Mates list on Twitter 😀

    Best of luck with your writing goals this year, Brigid! And happy new blog as well! 🙂

    1. Thanks! 😀 I’ve tried to do daily goals in the past and it hasn’t really worked out, but maybe I should try something like that again. I think the problem is that I’ve set daily word goals for myself every day, while it might be more effective to set a time to write every day instead. Hmm I should look into #WriteChain Challenge more because I don’t know much about it, but I’ve seen it around a lot on Twitter!

      I’ll probably be even more busy in April than in November, haha. But I might be doing Camp NaNo in July … I’m not sure yet. I’ve tried to do it for the past few years and ended up not doing very well; for some reason I lack motivation in the summer. Maybe I will try it again, though.

      Thank you! You too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

