WIPMarathon Check-in #4

Last Word Count & Chapter Count:

WC: 84,296
CC: 30

Current WC & CC (or SC):

WC: 90,211
CC: 31

WIP issues this week:

I had to write a pretty painful scene this week where two characters die. They weren’t very major characters, but I still found it difficult to write. And I’m still trying to finish the scene and cover the aftermath of these two deaths, etc. I haven’t been able to write in a few days––partly because I’ve been really busy, but also because it’s been emotionally difficult.

What I learned this week in writing:

That writing the aftermath of a death is possibly even harder for me than writing about the death itself. I think it’s really difficult to capture the reactions to the death––how the other characters respond, how they experience grief, etc. So, that’s a challenge I’ll have to face a lot this coming week. (And even more after that because so many characters die in this book … gahh!)

What distracted me this week while writing:

My college semester started on Wednesday, and I came back to campus on Tuesday––so I was busy with coming back and unpacking, hanging out with my friends again, going to new classes, doing homework, etc. But hopefully I’ll quickly get back into the flow of things and I can figure out some good writing times in my schedule.

Last 200 words:

(I’m not going to post my last 200 words because of spoilers, but here’s a little something from an earlier scene:)

Gavin is still pointing his rifle towards the choking Mort on the ground, and doesn’t seem to be aware of the other one coming up behind him.

“Gavin!” I cry out. I’m already dashing forward with my gun raised, just as he looks up in surprise, just as the Mort is about to stab him in the back and … oh no, I’m too late, I’m too late …

BANG.

The Mort screams suddenly, dropping the weapon she was holding moments ago. She clutches at her hand, which I can see is pouring blood. On the floor below her are two small, bloody objects which I quickly realize are fingers. I shot some of her fingers off.

The creature is still in shock, which gives Gavin the time to turn around and shoot her in the chest. She drops to the ground soundlessly, already dead. The first Mort is still crawling on the ground, trying to get up.

I wonder if Gavin is going to kill her, but he’s not even looking at her. He’s staring at me, wide-eyed, as if he still can’t register what just happened. I’m starting to think maybe I should finish the Mort off myself …

Nina!” I hear a voice scream. Juliet’s voice. Coming from across the store.

Oh, no.

15 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Check-in #4

  1. I agree with Emma! This excerpt already set my blood to boiling point, and it was a bad point to cut it off 😦

    You made great progress this week! What word count are you aiming for? Looks like you’re already close to the end.

    Good luck with your new semester!

    1. Ahhh sorry I had to cut it off! After that it gets into spoiler territory. 😛

      Thanks! I’m not sure exactly what I’m aiming for, but I estimate the first draft will probably be around 120k words or so. Generally my rough drafts are that long, and then I end up editing out a lot of it. I’m kind of near to the end, but a lot of important things still have to happen. Gahh!

    1. Thank you!

      Acck I know. As I said in response to Ifeoma, my first drafts are always super long but then I edit out a lot. I still have a good chunk of it left, but I’m starting to get towards the end. 🙂

  2. Wow, intense scene!!

    I feel the same way about it being difficult to capture the reactions to death. As of right now no one actually dies during my story, but the MC is grappling with the recent death of someone close to her. That’s going to be a big challenge for me, too, when I start writing again.

    Good luck with school and writing!

    1. Thank you!

      Yes, that can also be really difficult. Actually the MC in this story is also dealing throughout the book with her best friend’s death––plus being separated from her parents––and I feel like sometimes it seems like I’m “forgetting” that stuff and only referencing it occasionally. It’s challenging to balance a character’s emotional trauma with all the other challenges they have to face throughout the story. And it’s also difficult to show how it affects the character rather than telling how it affects them.

      1. OMGosh!! I know what you means about “forgetting” all the hardship your MC is carrying around and only referencing it occasionally (or, for me, when it’s convenient to the plot). I’m always paying attention when I read other books that do it well. As with all things writing, it’s an art. Good luck with it!

  3. I dread reaction scenes. I’ve found some creative ways to get around it lately, but I won’t be able to do that with my current story. I’m looking forward to it though. It’s been awhile. 🙂

    I love action scenes. ^_^ Your story sounds like it’s the good kind of crazy.

    1. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one! Good luck with the reaction scenes in your current story. 🙂

      Thank you! I used to loathe writing action scenes but I’ve become more comfortable with them over the past couple of years. It’s still challenging, but at least I’m less intimidated by them now.

  4. I’m with you on the reaction/sequel scenes… I tend to either not dive deep enough into the emotions, or get way too swirly and mired in them, dragging the pace way down. Practice makes perfect (or much better, anyhow 😉 I suppose! Excellent progress this week! Good luck with the new semester, too 🙂

    1. Thank you! I know what you mean … It’s like, you can’t skim over the emotions but you don’t want to completely ignore them either or it seems like your characters are heartless. So, you have to find a good balance somehow. 😉

  5. Great excerpt! Very intense. It’s a difficult thing, to put all the time and character-building into these people in our heads and then we kill em off with a few words. *clutches heart* Only other writers and readers understand. Great progress! Are you nearing the finish line? Woohoo! Rally!

Leave a Reply

