WIPMarathon Final Check-In

I realize I was supposed to post this update like a week ago, but I’ve been really stressed out lately and it totally slipped my mind (plus I haven’t been doing much writing … acck). But I will post it now anyway!

Last Word Count & Chapter Count:

WC: 90,211

CC: 31

Current WC & CC (or SC):

WC: 90,384

CC: 31

(Aggh I know, only a little over 100 words in two weeks. I’m terrible.)

WIP issues this week:

I really wanted to “cheat” on I Chose the Monster this week. That is, I’ve been really tempted lately to start something else. I’m not even sure why. I think it’s just been depressing me and so it’s been hard for me to write. But I’m feeling a bit better now, so hopefully I can keep resisting that temptation.

What I learned this week in writing:

Considering I haven’t really written anything in a couple of weeks … umm, I haven’t learned much. Haha. But I guess I’ve learned that I always reach a part of a manuscript where––even if I’ve gotten really far into it––I want to just toss it aside and start something new. I easily lose faith in my own work. But I just have to accept that my first draft isn’t going to be amazing and try to get it done.

What distracted me this week while writing:

I’m still trying to get into the swing of things, since my semester started not too long ago. Things aren’t too bad at the moment, though. I’ve also had some health problems these past couple of weeks which were stressing me out, but I’m feeling a little better now. *Knocks on wood*

Last 200 words [Censored for language, ah haha]:

“Then go without me.”

“Absolutely not. I’d never leave you behind. You know that.” He reaches down to gently place a hand on her head.

Audrey smacks his arm away. “Stop it.” She lurches to her feet. “Just … stop. Please. I––I can’t …” More tears streak down her face. She has her arms wrapped around herself, and even from where I’m standing I can see how hard she’s shaking.

Now Sadie is standing up, too. The expression on her face is grim, her eyes dull with grief. “Audrey …”

“What’s the point?” Audrey says, cutting her off. There’s a sudden venom in her voice, a harsh darkness in her gaze. “Really, what’s the f***ing point? The hunting, the fighting … It doesn’t do anything. It doesn’t––”

“Hey,” Gavin says gently. “Listen …”

“No!” she cries out, and the sharp sound of that one word echoes through the stillness. She’s breathing hard now, slowly taking steps backwards. “No, I––I can’t take this. All this bullsh**. I can’t, I can’t.”

Her voice has risen in pitch until it’s almost a scream. This time, no one reaches for her or says her name. Audrey stands on her own, in a square patch of light.

Plans after #WIPMarathon:

I’m going to be continuing with I Chose the Monster and hopefully I’ll be finished with the first draft in the next couple of months. I may keep doing weekly writing updates just to let you guys know how it’s going.

6 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Final Check-In

  1. I understand losing faith in your own work, I do it a lot. It’s good that you’ve stuck in there and intend to keep holding on. Sometimes you do need to stop and write a little something else, just don’t start a whole other project. Unless, like me, your WIP is just awful and drives you to the point of overwhelming stress. That’s when I would say start something else and give it a breather, I spent the second half of WIPMarathon on an entirely new zero draft. The first half was me trying to force myself to finish a WIP that just wasn’t working.

    Can’t wait to see your updates further, that 200 words has me curious about I Chose the Monster and I do hope you finish it.

    Best of luck! 😀

    1. I lose faith in my own work a lot, too. I think I reach a point in every manuscript where I’ve made it pretty far and I start to doubt myself just because I’ve spent so much time on it. Like, what if it’s all for nothing? What if it still doesn’t turn out the way I want it to? But of course, I’ll never know how something will turn out if I give up on it. And even if I do end up giving up on something, at least I learned from the experience. Anyway, I think I just psyched myself out a little, but I do plan on finishing it! I do still feel strongly about the story/characters so I want to stick with it and see what happens.

      Thank you!

  2. I totally know that feeling. I try to look at my first drafts as laying the framework for the rest of the story. You know, all the boring stuff like floors and drywall. It doesn’t look like much, but you have to have something to decorate, right? I’m rather like that now. I just want my rewrite done so I can fix things and make it all shiny or whatever.

    Lots of fun emotion rolling around in the excerpt. ^_^ It’s powerful.

  3. That’s how I try to think of it, too. I’m very self-critical so I tend to worry about how “bad” my first draft is––but I just have to keep reminding myself that it’s just the beginning and that I can always flesh it out more later.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

