Teaser Tuesday #3

Oops, I almost forgot about Teaser Tuesday. (And I realize it completely slipped my mind last week, silly me.) I admit, I still have been slacking off on my writing recently, but I’m trying to make more of an effort to set aside a “writing time” for every day. (I also keep writing too late at night and getting too tired to get anything done, uggh.)

Anyway, I’ll shut up now and post today’s teaser from I Chose the Monster. This is a little emotional moment between Nina and Juliet (the two main characters). Enjoy, and let me know what you think! (Censored a bit for language and for a minor spoiler):

———-

Now that I’m standing closer, I can see she has her forehead leaned against the bars, and her face is deathly pale in the morning light.

My heart plunges into my stomach. “Juliet?” I fall on my knees next to her, put a hand on her shoulder …

She’s saying something, I realize. Whispering something I can’t hear. “What? Juliet, what is it? Are you all right?”

“I thought she was you,” she says, her voice clearer now.

“You … what?” I move closer to her, so I’m sitting right next to her. “What are you talking about?”

She slowly lifts her head, opens her eyes. Her hands slip from the bars and fall onto her lap.

“It––It was dark. I saw her die, I saw it kill her … and I thought …” She stops.

“You thought …” It’s all piecing together now, and it’s making my skin feel cold. “Juliet … Oh, my God.”

She doesn’t sit up or even look at me. I still have my hand on her shoulder and I can feel her shaking. “I didn’t realize until I was trying to pull her away, until it was too late.”

There’s a sudden lump in my throat. I drop my hand from her shoulder, and turn away so I’m facing the row of black metal bars in front of us. “It wasn’t your fault,” I say at last. I don’t know what else to say.

“I felt relieved,” Juliet says, as if she didn’t hear me. “When I realized it was her, and not you. How f***ing sick is that?” She sits up very suddenly, turning to look at me. Her eyes are ablaze, filled with some kind of expectation like she wants me to give her an answer. But I don’t know what to say.

“What kind of person does that make me?” she says, when I just stare at her. As abruptly as she looked at me, she looks away again, out to the sunrise-painted sky. “I mean, I … I’m not saying I was glad she wad dead, because of course I’m not. It’s horrible. I was just … Damn it.” She rubs the heel of one hand against one eye and then the other. “This wasn’t supposed to happen. I wasn’t supposed to …”

Juliet falls silent again, as she stares fiercely out at the dawn.

“You weren’t supposed to what?” I ask.

I hear her take in a deep breath and let it out again.

“I wasn’t supposed to start caring about you.”

Leave a Reply

