Monthly Writing Update: March 2014

Well, let’s just rip the band-aid off, shall we?

I … did horribly during March. Horribly. I wrote on the first two days. And then … I stopped. I wrote a total of 1,414 words and I was hoping to write 20,000. I was hoping to finally get to the end of my first draft of I Chose the Monster––and it just didn’t happen. I didn’t even write anything during spring break. The month just disappeared on me and somehow I barely managed to write anything.

Needless to say, I am disappointed. Sure, I did have a lot of homework to do and other things to worry about, but I still probably could have squeezed in some words every day instead of checking Facebook and whatnot. So, I don’t have much of an excuse.

As for my goals for April, I’m not setting my expectations too high––partly because March was such a failure, but also because April is the busiest month of the year for me since it’s getting towards the end of the semester and I have final projects to work on.

However, I did decide to do Camp NaNo super last-minute. (Here is a link to my info page.) I think I really need a break from I Chose the Monster because it’s just been too stressful for me to write lately. I do want to get some writing done this month, but I don’t think I have the time (or emotional stability) to invest in anything too dark/heavy. So I’m giving myself a break and just winging it with a random side project––something lighter and just kind of about college life and whatnot. It doesn’t really have a plot yet, but hopefully I’ll post more about it once I flesh out the idea a bit more.

I don’t know if I’ll aim for the big 50k, but I at least want to write a little every day and just try to get myself back into the habit of writing.

So yeah, sorry this has been kind of a dreary post. Hopefully I’ll have a happier update next month!

How about you guys? What are your writing goals for April? Are you also doing Camp NaNo?

13 thoughts on “Monthly Writing Update: March 2014

  1. I haven’t been doing too well with my writing either. In the past, I have written off and on; but lately, I’ve wanted to stay consistent and actually be a writer. I feel bad that I can’t concentrate and get anything done.
    I hope to get a bit done this month. I’m not participating in Camp Nano, but it would have been cool. I just need to settle down and get back into writing.
    Good luck this month! 🙂

  2. Camp NaNo sounds fun! I am amused to see that your novel is about a boy named Nathaniel starting college. That’s my brother’s name, and he’s in college.

    I basically abandoned writing for most of winter quarter (we’re on the quarter system in California), but last week was my spring break, and it was great, writing-wise! I started writing the companion novel to Sparkers and got in a lot of words (though that doesn’t mean much has happened yet; my first drafts are extremely long-winded). Our spring quarter started yesterday, but I’m hoping to keep up my daily word count goal. I think it should be doable because this term should be much less academically demanding than last term. Also, writing every day during spring break has helped me get back into the habit, I think. So far, so good. I don’t have the plot entirely worked out yet, but I wanted to just dive in and see what happened.

    1. I hope it will be fun, haha. And that’s a funny coincidence! 😉

      Congrats on the companion book; I’m glad it’s going well! Haha my first drafts are always super long-winded as well. Anyway, I’ve wanted to just “dive in” to a story lately also … Lately I think I’ve been overplanning my stories and it just gets to a point where I feel kind of constrained by my expectations––which is why I’m trying not to have many expectations for this story I’m starting, haha. So hopefully it will be an interesting experience!

  3. Meh, I feel like I’m in the same boat these days. They say pressure creates diamonds, but I really think it creates steaming piles of dog poo (or, at least, we perceive it as such). Book #4 is going oh so swimmingly well. Like, I’m drowning, please throw me a life preserver well :p.
    Keep your head up. You’re awesome and still the best writer I’ve ever met.
    Catch ya soon!

    1. Aw shucks, thanks Kristen. 😉 Hopefully I’ll have more time/motivation to write once I’ve handed in all my final projects for the semester and whatnot. Good luck with book 4! I’m sure it will be amazing! 😀

      1. I’m sure you will. I’m really looking forward to beta reading whatever you put out next (hint, hint ;)). And we’ll see to your last sentence. You know me, I’m always worried!

Leave a Reply

