Books That Made Me Want To Be a Writer (Part 1)

One of the main things that made me want to be a writer was … well, reading. A lot. I became a voracious reader at a young age, and there were so many great books that drew me into their worlds and inspired me to write my own stories. There are far too many of these childhood favorites to name in one go, so I’ll start with just a few and continue this in later posts.

So, for now, three books from my childhood that made me want to be a writer:

Ella_enchanted_(book_cover)

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

I picked up Ella Enchanted in third grade, and I remember it being one of the first books that really made me love reading. It’s exciting, it’s funny, and it’s a very creative retelling of Cinderella.

1p_SilverCrown_cvr.qx4

The Silver Crown by Robert C. O’Brien

Don’t be fooled by the cutesy cover and kinda generic title. This is a terrifying (and awesome) book. Scary magic, brainwashing, evil children … It’s super great. When I first read this book, I’m pretty sure I read the whole thing in one sitting. It’s good stuff.

18131

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

I think I’ve read A Wrinkle in Time five or six times. (For a while I had a tradition that I re-read it every summer.) I guess I have a thing for creepy brainwashing because that’s also part of what intrigued me about this book. Also it has really cool world-building and it’s a great adventure story.

How about you guys? What books did you love as a kid? And/or what books inspired you to start writing?

6 thoughts on “Books That Made Me Want To Be a Writer (Part 1)

  1. I totally get where you’re coming from, when you read greatness you yearn to create some of it yourself. Personally, I started off as a poet and then somewhere along the way I started writing stories and works that I hoped would make someone smile if they were down. Thank you for sharing your story 🙂

  2. I liked Ella Enchanted and A Wrinkle in Time, but I’d never heard of The Silver Crown! I reread A Wrinkle in Time last year and was surprised by how strange a book it is. I still like it, but I think I like other Madeleine L’Engle books better. When I was a kid I think I was most obsessed with the Chronicles of Narnia.

    1. The Silver Crown is so good! I feel like not enough people know about it, but it’s really great. Yeah, A Wrinkle in Time is very strange, as are the other books in the series. I remember really liking the third one, A Swiftly Tilting Planet––it involves a time-traveling unicorn, which is pretty awesome. I never finished Chronicles of Narnia, actually; I think I read like four or five of them and kinda lost interest. But maybe I should finish that series at some point!

      1. Yes, I love A Swiftly Tilting Planet! It was all the Welsh stuff, I think. I like her non-science fiction books too, especially The Young Unicorns and Troubling a Star. Dragons in the Waters had a bit of a white savior thing going on, though, which wasn’t so great. She was so prolific, and her books are so magnificently intertwined!

  3. I’ve never gotten around to reading her works outside of the Time series, although I think I may own some of them. Yes it’s cool that her stories/characters are all connected! I always loved the big crazy family trees at the beginning of all her books. 🙂 I should read more of her stuff! Uh oh, that’s too bad about the white savior complex though. 😛

Leave a Reply

