WIPMarathon: September 2015 Check-In

So, this check-in is like a week late. Also I realize I’ve only been posting WIPMarathon updates for the past few months. But I’m sure you’re all tired of me starting every single one of my blog posts by apologizing, so I guess I won’t apologize. 😛

September was not a super productive month for me. It was going well at first and then … I don’t know. I just totally fell off track. Honestly I’ve been feeling a bit depressed lately. I’ve had horrible, horrible insomnia all month long and it’s been really hard for me to gather the energy to do anything, including writing. I really wanted to finish my draft this month and I just couldn’t do it. As much as I’m trying not to beat myself up over it … well, I’m beating myself up over it. *Sigh*

But I guess all I can do is keep going, even if it’s at a snail’s pace. At least progress is progress.

The actual update:

Last WC/CC: 120,191 words / 43 chapters

Current WC/CC: 126,838 words / 45 chapters

WIP Issues This Month:

  • The aforementioned depression/insomnia
  • Procrastination
  • Having to kill off a character I really like––which I think is partly what has been keeping me from writing lately. I keep putting it off, telling myself I need to be in the “right mood” to write it, but I should probably just get it over with. 😛

What I learned this month in writing:

If I don’t keep to a schedule, then I just don’t write. And it’s a real problem. Also, I think I expected too much of myself this past month and it just ended up biting me in the butt. When I went through July/August with lower word count goals, I wrote every day. I find that if I set my goals too high, I just get scared and don’t write.

What distracted me this month while writing:

Eh, the usual. Internet. Work. Reading. But I also had a busy past few weeks. I went to Boston Calling which was amazing! Also I visited some college friends this past weekend. And I started teaching a writing class for teenagers––which is awesome and I should totally write a post about that. 🙂 I was also pretty sick during the last week of September so I didn’t feel like doing much, so yeah. But now I feel better (besides an annoying, lingering cough) so I’m out of excuses.

Goal for next month:

Well, I’ve already missed like a week of October but for the rest of the month, I think I’ll aim for about 250 words a day and hopefully that will at least get me back in the habit of writing, even if I don’t finish this horrible never-ending draft.

Also I need to start planning for NaNoWriMo! *screams*

Last 200 Words:

I’m not posting the last 200 words because of spoilers! But here are 200 words from a recent part. 🙂

Bracing myself, I take a step through the doorway. The room is very small, and the air is hot and musty. The dull light of my flashlight illuminates shapes on the ceiling, and I look up to see the walls are covered in old wooden carvings. Demonic faces leer at me from the highest corners.

My instinct is to back out of the room right away, but something keeps me in place. Something about … the smell. It doesn’t seem right. I inhale again and this time it hits me hard—the distinct, stomach-turning stench of something decaying. Something dead.

I take a step back, but I’ve already seen it. In one far corner of the room, across from where I stand, a pile of something pink and glistening lies on the floor. Dark red stains the wood floor around it.

Bile rises into the back of my throat, and I stumble backwards out of the room. I crash into something—someone, and they grab my arms. I cry out in alarm, and the sharp noise echoes from the walls.

“Nina?” It’s Juliet.

I try to catch my breath, try to slow down the wild fluttering in my chest. “They’ve been here,” I manage to say.

“What?”

“In that room, there––there’s something on the floor. They killed someone here. Recently. We have to get out.”

6 thoughts on “WIPMarathon: September 2015 Check-In

  1. Progress IS progress! ^_^
    And you made a lot more than I did, but no beating ourselves up. 🙂

    I got through a few bouts of insomnia a year, so I totally know how crazy making that can be. I also get intimidated by lofty goals. Setting smaller goals works SO much better for me, too. I even often exceed those goals, and either way, I’m less stressed so win-win.

    I would love to teach a writing class! How fun!!
    And speaking of run, your excerpt is exciting! More! ^_^

    1. Woot woot! Congrats to both of us for making some progress, even if it wasn’t a lot. 😉 Insomnia is such a pain, isn’t it? I wish I could just get my brain to shut up at night––but at least it gives me time to plan out stories, lol. Lately I’ve found I have the same experience with smaller goals; I get a lot more done because I’m less intimidated, and I often exceed my goal because I feel more like I’m “on a roll.” 😛 So I think I will get back in the habit of writing in smaller chunks. (Although I also need to gear up for NaNo! But I guess I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.) The writing class is so much fun so far! And thank you! Stay tuned for more…. 🙂

    1. True, sometimes I just need a mental break. But also I hate falling behind on my goals, so it’s always a difficult situation. 😛 Yes, the class is a lot of fun so far! I think I will write up a post about it soon.

Leave a Reply

