Music Monday: 10/19/15

Time for something a little different! My Goodreads friend Lauren has started a meme on her blog Always Me called Music Monday and I’m going to participate. 🙂 I know this isn’t exactly about writing––but music does mean a lot to me, and it is one of my main inspirations. So hopefully some of the songs I’ll be sharing can inspire some of you as well. And if you would like to participate in the meme as well, please do!

Rules: 

• Every Monday, share 1-2 songs. It can be any genre, it can be something new or it can be an old favorite. Whatever you want!
• Share a music/lyric video of the song.
• Tell us some of your thoughts/feelings about the song, artist, and/or music video.
• Submit the link to your blog post at the bottom of Lauren’s post here (where it says “Add your link”).

My Music Choices of the Week:

CHVRCHES – “Leave a Trace”

I’ve been a huge fan of CHVRCHES since they released their debut album a couple years ago, and their second album––Every Open Eye––definitely delivers. I recommend every song on it, but “Leave a Trace” is a good place to start. It’s extremely fun and catchy, but it also has that cool, edgy vibe that gives CHVRCHES their trademark sound. The music video is pretty much just Lauren Mayberry (the lead singer) dancing around––but hey, she’s super adorable so it’s worth watching. 🙂

Tribe Society – “Kings”

This song is so epic. It kind of a creepy dystopian vibe to it, which I love. Every time I listen to it, it makes me want to run around in the woods waving a sword … or something. 😛 Anyway, I highly recommend it if you are a sci-fi/fantasy writer because I could see it inspiring a lot of stories. Also the music video is a comic-book-style animated thing and it’s pretty cool.

2 thoughts on “Music Monday: 10/19/15

  1. I’ve just started listening to Chvrches and I really like their sound. I think I’m going to have to hear more from Tribe Society. That’s the first song I’ve heard by them and I love it, and the video itself. Thanks very much for sharing and taking part. 🙂

    1. Yay I’m so glad! CHVRCHES is awesome. Tribe Society is a very new band so they only have a few songs right now, but I look forward to seeing what they’ll do next! 😀 You’re totally welcome, and thank you for starting this!

Leave a Reply

