WIPMarathon: October 2015 Check-In + NaNoWriMo!

Happy Halloween, everyone! I hope you’ve all had a spectacularly spooky day. I got to hang out with some of my friends from high school––we played Zoombinis and carved a pumpkin and it was a lot of fun. At the moment I am alone at home (on “handing out candy” duty) and I just finished watching the “Freaks and Geeks” Halloween episode, which I traditionally watch every year.

The best ❤

Anyway, on to the first order of business, which is my October check-in for WIPMarathon.

UMMMM … I really did not write much this month. My two (lame) excuses are 1) I was in the middle of writing a very difficult part of the book and it’s been too emotionally draining, 2) I got caught up in planning for NaNoWriMo and that kind of consumed a lot of my time. I am a bit frustrated since I was really hoping to finish this draft of I Chose The Monster before NaNo, but I guess it can wait until after November. *sigh*

Last WC/CC: 126,838 words / 45 chapters

Current WC/CC: 128,804 words / 46 chapters

WIP Issues This Month:

  • Mostly procrastination/laziness
  • I was distracted by planning for NaNo.
  • I’m trying to get through a really sad and dramatic chapter that’s been giving me a lot of trouble––and honestly that’s part of what prevented me from writing all month (besides just being lazy).

What I learned this month in writing:

It’s hard to say since I didn’t get much writing done at all. 😛 But ummmm … I guess I’ve learned that it can be very difficult to emotionally detach myself from the story/characters, but sometimes I just need to rip off the band-aid.

What distracted me this month while writing:

As I’ve mentioned a couple times: planning for NaNoWriMo! I got so caught up in researching, outlining, etc. that I just kind of set ICTM aside. I started to feel much more attracted to a new, shiny story than to an old one I’ve been working on for ages. 😛 But I’m sure I’ll be sick of the “shiny new story” by the end of November and then I can go back to ICTM! Yay!

Goal for next month:

To win NaNo! This is my tenth year participating––I can’t believe it. And I’m hoping to keep up my winning streak because I’ve won the past seven NaNos. Let’s make this number eight!!!

Last 200 Words:

Ohhhh boy. As I’ve mentioned, I’m in the middle of quite a dramatic part right now so uh, the emotions are running a bit high in this excerpt. Also WARNING: some strong language. 😛

“Fuck you,” I say. It comes out louder and fiercer than I thought it would, and Juliet winces as if I physically hurt her. I get shakily to my feet. “Fuck … you.” This time it comes out weak, broken—strangled by the sobs that are fighting their way up into my chest.

Juliet shakes her head. “Nina––”

She takes a step forward, but I step away from her. I clutch at my wrist, where it’s still throbbing. “You’re such a bitch, you know that?”

As soon as I’ve said it, I want to take it back. I see the look on Juliet’s face and I know I’ve hurt her. But at the same time, some sick part of me is glad. I need her to feel hurt, to show any kind of emotion at all.

“It’s always about you,” I force myself to continue––even though the tears are streaming freely down my face now, even though my voice trembles, even as the first sob racks its way through me. “You don’t give a damn about anyone but yourself. Even now. I––I can’t believe you.”

My voice finally breaks on the words. I’m losing control. Coming apart. Everything is growing hazy and unreal and I just want it to stop.

…. So much fun, I know!!!

Ah-hem well uh. Anyway. Time for the second thing on my agenda:

NaNoWriMo!!!!!!!!!!!

I’ll keep this brief because this post is already getting really long. But anyway, the working title of my NaNo is The Resurrectionists. 

resurrectionists

~spooky~

It’s based on real-life grave robbery in 18th century London, but it has a bit of a supernatural twist to it. 😉 I guess I’ll just leave it at that partly because I don’t really know what I’m doing!!!! but there is a bit more info about it here if you’re curious. (Also, feel free to add me as a NaNo buddy if you are also participating!)

I will try to do a weekly update for NaNo so I can tell you guys more about the story as I start making progress. Also I’m hoping to do a special NaNo edition of Music Monday this week. So, stay tuned!

Hope you’re all having a fun and safe Halloween. Don’t eat too much candy. 😉 …. Just kidding, eat lots and lots of candy.

How about you guys? Are you also doing NaNo? If so, what are you writing about?

8 thoughts on “WIPMarathon: October 2015 Check-In + NaNoWriMo!

  1. I’ve all of sudden gotten “busy” around difficult to write scenes. I wish I could do NaNo, I love participating! None of my shiny ideas are ready to come out of the crockpot yet though. But I’ll be spying and cheering for everyone! Best of luck continuing your winning streak!!

    Dude! I love the emotion in your excerpt! I have no idea what’s going on, but I can definitely feel it!

    1. Haha, same thing always happens to me. I’m like, “Well I could write this really sad part, orrrrr I could go do something else.” And I usually choose the latter. 😛 Thank you for the NaNo support!

      Aw thanks! It was very hard to write, but I’m glad to hear it works. 🙂

  2. 10 NaNos?! That’s so impressive! Congrats and best of luck this month 🙂 Your synopsis is intriguing, ooohhh.. And I just added you on NaNo — 23 IS NOT OLD!! 🙂 You started doing NaNo super young, that’s all that means. Now, go repeat after me several times… 23 is not old, 23 is not old… (if it is, I’m freaking ancient, LOL).

Leave a Reply

