Music Monday: 11/23/15 – NaNo Edition! (pt. 3)

Happy Monday to you all! Hope all your weeks are off to a good start. Personally, I don’t have much to do today so I am frantically trying to catch up on NaNo (once again).

Thank you for joining me in another special NaNo edition of Music Monday! As you may or may not know, this month all my Music Mondays are dedicated to sharing songs that are inspiring my current NaNo novel.

The two songs I have chosen this week are a bit of a stretch, I suppose––neither fits my NaNo novel lyrically, but I really love the mood of both, and they have definitely been pumping me up to write recently!

Woodlock – Build a Kingdom

I’ve been keeping an eye on this Australian band for a while, and I hope that at some point they’ll get the recognition they deserve. Woodlock has put out some great songs over the past few years, and their newest EP, Sirens, gives me high hopes that they are going places. “Build a Kingdom” is my favorite track from it. Something about it just feels so immense and I feel so inspired every time I listen to it. What’s interesting about this song is that it’s kind of folksy, but then it has this kinda dubstep thing going on also??? I don’t know, but it’s definitely an interesting blend of genres that I don’t hear often.

Eliza and the Bear – Lion’s Heart

Eliza and the Bear is yet another super underrated band (in my opinion). Although they have yet to release a full album, they’ve released a couple of really solid EPs and singles. “Lion’s Heart” is one of their most recent releases, and it’s one of my favorites of theirs. 🙂

So, those are my choices this week!

If you would also like to participate in Music Monday:

• Every Monday, share 1-2 songs. It can be any genre, it can be something new or it can be an old favorite. Whatever you want!
• Share a music/lyric video of the song.
• Tell us some of your thoughts/feelings about the song, artist, and/or music video.
• Submit the link to your blog post at the bottom of Lauren’s post here (where it says “Add your link”).

Stay tuned for more posts!

2 thoughts on “Music Monday: 11/23/15 – NaNo Edition! (pt. 3)

Leave a Reply

