WIPMarathon: December 2015

I can’t believe there’s only a day left in 2015! This year has gone by way too quickly … and yet it also feels like it’s been super long. It’s hard to believe that at this time last year, I was about to start my last semester of college. And now it’s been more than 7 months since I graduated (yikes, can that be right???). Wow.

Without further ado, here is my WIPMarathon  post for December.

This month I got back to working on I Chose The Monster. (And … surprise surprise, I still haven’t finished this first draft. But I’m really, really close!)

Last WC/CC: 128,804 words / 46 chapters

Current WC/CC: 144,668 words / 51 chapters

WIP Issues This Month:

I haven’t written much in the past week or so because of all the holiday craziness, and I didn’t write much at the beginning of December, either … but those two or so weeks in between, I really wrote up a storm. There was one week where I pledged to write 2k each day and I actually did it. I totaled about 15k words for the month––which for a non-NaNo month is pretty great, by my standards.

However, I wouldn’t say this first draft is flawless––in fact, I would say the opposite. It’s an utter mess. This month in particular, I was trying to get through the final section of the story, and there were parts when I felt really stuck and just skipped over big chunks of time. I think right now, the main problem is that so much of the central conflict is crammed into the last like, five chapters. I’m already starting to think about the next drafts, and how I’m going to introduce the biggest conflict/stakes earlier in the story. It’s coming to me bit by bit … but right now I just need to focus on getting to the end of this draft.

What I learned this month in writing: 

  • I am capable of meeting word goals if I just take the time to sit down and focus on writing for an hour or two.
  • If I have a larger word goal for the day, it can help to divide it into smaller chunks.
  • It’s helpful to start brainstorming for future drafts even when I’m still on the first draft––but I also try not to let that distract me from finishing the draft I’ve started.

What distracted me this month while writing:

  • Two words: Christmas shopping
  • And you know, Christmas itself

Goal for Next Month:

Finish this gosh darn draft of I Chose The Monster. No really, I’m serious. I have like two chapters left and I just need to do it.

If I do finish it before the end of January (which I will!!!) I’m going to start the editing process. The first order of business will be to start cutting out what I don’t need (which is a lot) but I also need to start reworking the plot, fleshing out characters and backstories more, etc. It’s going to be a good time.

Last 200 Words:

I can’t seem to get my legs to move yet. My hand is on my gun, and I pull it from its holster, yet I can’t throw myself into the battle. Although I’ve anticipated this moment for days, although I knew it was inevitable, it all seems so unreal. Truthfully, all I want to do is run and hide. In fact, some people are doing just that. While some throw themselves into the fight, others are scattering in all directions. But soon it’s clear that there’s nowhere to hide. The Morts have us surrounded.

I close my eyes and try to think through the wild pounding in my head. I quickly remember why I’m doing this. Who I’m doing it for. My parents. My friends. All the people I’ve lost. All the life I’ll never get to live.

And I remind myself why I made this choice. How I could have chosen death, or I could have chosen to fight back.

How I could have chosen to go peacefully, or to give up all humanity so I could do all the things I’ve done—everything that has led me here.

To be a ghost or to be a monster.

And I’ve chosen the monster.

Title drop! …. Sort of.

I hope you’ve all had a good writing month/year! Did you manage to get any writing done despite the holiday season?

Tomorrow I’ll be posting an end-of-the-year wrap-up and some of my writing goals for 2016!

2 thoughts on “WIPMarathon: December 2015

  1. This has really been the month of the WIPs. I wasn’t going to work on my NaNo novel for a couple of months, but now I’m racing to finish the last chapter and the first round of revisions before the first of January. So here it is, the 30th, with six chapters to go. The race is on! At least I didn’t have the excuse of the holidays, since I don’t observe them.

    That last 200 words makes me very curious about your novel, without knowing a thing about it. Great ending.

Leave a Reply

