Music Monday: 1/11/16

Hello everyone and happy Monday! (Well okay … as I’m writing this it’s 11:30 pm so it’s cutting it a little close, but oh well.) Ready for some music?

Recently I’ve been realizing that I love a lot of songs that incorporate a children’s choir––so this week I’m sharing two songs that fall into that category. 🙂

King Creosote – Bluebell, Cockleshell, 123

This is the only song I’ve heard by Scottish singer King Creosote, but it makes me want to listen to more of his music! This song is really lovely in my opinion––it’s short and sweet and the lyrics are interesting. I love the singer’s voice and the children singing as well. 🙂

Mr. Little Jeans – Oh Sailor

This song is so pretty and it always makes me feel better. It’s very soothing and dreamlike, and I love the children singing in the chorus. It’s just such a sweet song.

Hope you enjoyed my recommendations for the week!

If you would also like to participate in Music Monday:

• Every Monday, share 1-2 songs. It can be any genre, it can be something new or it can be an old favorite. Whatever you want!
• Share a music/lyric video of the song.
• Tell us some of your thoughts/feelings about the song, artist, and/or music video.
• Submit the link to your blog post at the bottom of Lauren’s post here (where it says “Add your link”).

4 thoughts on “Music Monday: 1/11/16

  1. This reminded me of something funny. Back in high school, I did the Minnesota Music Listening Contest, and one year one of the pieces we studied (I have no idea why) was “The Most Unwanted Song,” a song designed to contain all the elements that, according to a survey, Americans hated most in music. One of those elements was children’s choirs (also: bagpipes, opera singing, cowboy music). You can look up the song; it really is bad, but clearly deliberately so.

Leave a Reply

