Music Monday: 1/25/16

I can’t believe it’s already the last Music Monday for this month! January has gone by crazy fast.

Hope you all had a terrific weekend. As for me, I went to NYC with my family––and of course, it had to be the second-biggest snowstorm in NYC history. The only reason we went was to see “Spring Awakening” on Broadway (we’d had the tickets for like two months) and ….. it was cancelled last-minute. Like, we literally walked up to the theater right after they’d made the decision. 😦 And then it wasn’t like we could do anything else because literally everything was closed and almost all travel was banned (including the subways!) so that mega-sucked. But hey, I got to see Times Square for the first time. And it was definitely a crazy weekend that I’ll always remember. 😛

Well, enough chit-chat. On to my two music recommendations of the week!

Hayden Calnin – White Night

Do you ever discover a song/artist and feel like “HOLY CRAP, WHERE HAS THIS BEEN ALL MY LIFE.” That’s how I feel about this song. I first heard it about a week ago and I immediately fell in love. I then went on to listen to everything Hayden Calnin has recorded so far, and I am so thrilled to have found his music. His voice is so powerful, and the chorus on this song just gives me chills. As of right now the music video only has a little over 5,000 views, but I hope this song gains popularity. The video is also really nice and it’s about LGBTQ characters which is awesome, so check it out!

St. Lucia – Dancing on Glass

I got to see St. Lucia a few years ago at Boston Calling, and really enjoyed their performance. At the time, I wasn’t so familiar with their music––and since then, I still haven’t listened to them much. But their newest single, “Dancing on Glass”, has made me want to look into their music again. It’s a very fun synth-pop song with an 80’s vibe, and I really dig it. It makes me really excited for the band’s new album!

If you would also like to participate in Music Monday this week:

• Share 1-2 songs. It can be any genre, it can be something new or it can be an old favorite. Whatever you want!
• Share a music/lyric video of the song.
• Tell us some of your thoughts/feelings about the song, artist, and/or music video.
• Submit the link to your blog post at the bottom of Lauren’s post here (where it says “Add your link”).

What did you think of my music choices this week? Comment and let me know! Also, feel free to let me know if you have any music recommendations for me. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Music Monday: 1/25/16

  1. Oh, wow -Hayden Calnin has quite a voice! 🙂

    I haven’t listened to much St. Lucia in a while, but I’ve been enjoying this song! Really looking forward to their next album too.

    Thanks again for participating!

  2. Pingback: Music Monday: 2/22/16 – WordFare

  3. late the discussions on this forum aren’t good. Everybody is hell bent in proving their point and nobody wants to listen. If some gora had made movie on upper strata then also these cynics would have problems saying exactly reverse India is not all about the rich and bilroinales:)To hell with these people

Leave a Reply

