Useful Hashtags for Writers

To the new user, Twitter can be quite overwhelming. At first, it seems like a jumbled mess of statuses, links, and weird symbols. Admittedly, it took me a long time to get used to Twitter––but now that I’ve grown accustomed to it, I’ve found it to be one of the best ways to connect with other writers.

How do you find other writers on Twitter? The answer is: hashtags. It can be difficult to navigate through all the hashtags on Twitter, and to know where to look for the information you want. So, here is a brief list of some of my favorite writing-related hashtags, which have helped me to converse with so many fellow writers online.

#amwriting

If you’re looking for other writers on Twitter, the #amwriting hashtag is a good place to start. In this hashtag, you will find a ton of writers posting about their writing progress, achievements, woes, and advice.

Pro tip: If you want to get more specific, try searching for writers in your genre by tacking a genre onto the end of #amwriting. For example, #amwritingfantasy or #amwritingromance. There’s also an #amediting tag if you want to converse with others about editing!

#writetip

In need of some inspiration and motivation? Check out the #writetip hashtag to find a treasure trove of writing advice. It’s a good place to go if you need some encouraging words or some helpful advice. And of course, if you have your own writing advice to share on Twitter, you can always tag your tweet with #writetip so fellow writers can find it.

#pubtip

Similar to #writetip, #pubtip is full of life-saving advice about publishing your work. The real selling point is that a lot of literary agents frequently use this tag––so they definitely know what they’re talking about! (Also check out #querytip for advice about writing/submitting queries to agents.)

#wordsprint

If you enjoy word sprinting, #wordsprint is the place to go. Many writers participate in word sprints on Twitter, and I’ve often found it to be a fun way to reach my word goals and to encourage fellow writers.

Pro tip: One of my favorite alternatives to #wordsprint is #1k1hr, in which writers attempt to write 1,000 words in an hour.


 

How about you guys? Do you use Twitter? Have you explored any of these hashtags before, and do you have any others you would add to the list? Comment and let me know!

8 thoughts on “Useful Hashtags for Writers

  1. Heh, I might try searching those hashtags the next time I need inspiration for a blog post. My Twitter account is private, because I’ve had it since college and its full of all sorts of things, but maybe if my blog kicks off I’ll get a new one and keep it public.

  2. Pingback: #TopTenTuesday: My Favorite Websites & Apps – WordFare

Leave a Reply

