WIPMarathon: January 2016

Here we are at the end of January! Is it just me or did it seem like a really long month? I already feel like it’s been 2016 for ages.

I’ve been super busy these past few weeks, but luckily I’ve managed to squeeze some writing in. So, I’m happy to present my first WIPMarathon post of the year!


 

GUESS WHAT GUYS????? I …. still haven’t finished my draft of I Chose the Monster. I know, so shocking! I still haven’t finished the manuscript I’ve been saying I would finish for like a year! Hahaha!

But, hear me out. I’m literally writing the last chapter. I was really, really hoping I’d finally get to the end this month, but I guess it was not meant to be. I can honestly say, though, that I think I will be done with this draft within a week, probably less. Yes, I’m THAT close.

Last WC/CC: 144,668 words / 51 chapters

Current WC/CC: 150,248 words / 54 chapters

(*screams* I know, it’s insanely long. I was hoping I wouldn’t go over 150k words on this draft, but hopefully it won’t be too much longer than that.)

WIP Issues This Month:

Endings are hard, man. The end of this draft is just … a mess. It’s extremely rushed and anti-climatic. But, I’m trying not to sweat it too much. The next draft is going to involve a lot of major changes, so that will probably affect how powerful the ending is.

What I learned this month in writing:

I have to accept that my first draft will be horrible no matter what. This has always been a big problem for me. Even though I know a perfect first draft is impossible, I think a tiny part of me always wishes I could get it right on the first try. But I’m really trying to overcome that. As I said, I think my second draft is going to be pretty radically different from the first––so I just have to keep reminding myself that nothing is written in stone, and I can always toss and/or rewrite something if I’m not happy with it.

What distracted me this month while writing:

The primary distraction for me this month was that …. I got a new job! (I mean, sort of. It’s temporary.) But I’ve been hired by a local author, Melissa Burch, to help her with marketing her new memoir and booking author events all over the country. It’s a lot of work, but it’s fun and I’ve been learning a lot of stuff that will probably be useful to me in the future!

Otherwise, I haven’t had too many distractions besides the usual: reading books, using the internet, occasionally spending time with real live human beings … you know. 😉

Goal for Next Month:

FINISH THIS FREAKIN’ DRAFT. OH MY GODDDD.

Seriously though. And then once I’m done with this draft, I need to start planning out the next one. I’m not sure how much I’ll get done in February in terms of getting words down on paper, but I’ll certainly be doing a lot of planning.

Oh, and I’m teaching another teen writing class, which starts tomorrow! I know at least six students have signed up so far, and two of them are returning students from my last class (YAAY THEY ACTUALLY LIKE ME) so I’m very excited about that. And this time around, I actually kind of know what I’m doing. 🙂

Last 200 Words:

I’m not going to post the last 200 words because they are extremely spoiler-ish, haha. But here is a recent snippet:

I don’t know what time is anymore, if it has ever existed. I am everywhere at once. I am every version of myself I have ever been.

I am the Nina Sylvain in the back of a car, trying to get to the safe area with my parents. I am the girl who chose to fight monsters––a painful, violent end––instead of accepting a swift and peaceful death.

Since that day, I have lived a thousand lives. I have fired bullets through hearts, lungs, and brains. Without blinking an eye, I have killed. And with each kill, some part of me died with my victim. Even if those victims were monsters. Somehow, I saw a little of myself in each of them.


I hope everyone has had a good start to the new year! And if you have any writing accomplishments/goals you want to share, feel free to do so in the comments! 🙂

9 thoughts on “WIPMarathon: January 2016

  1. It felt like a long month for me, too!

    Wow, I’ve never written anything over 90k in my life! I can’t imagine! Congrats on being so close to the end!! 😀

    I’m always shooting for that perfect first draft. 🙂 But I am (slowly) accepting that it’s (probably) never going to happen. ^_^

  2. Congrats on reaching the last chapter! You’re nearly there!! WOOHOO! *throws confetti*

    When I think back to the 1st of January, that doesn’t seem so long ago, but when I look at what I’ve done in the time since, wow, yes, it does seem like a long month. But I prefer that, personally… time goes back too fast as it is 😉

    That’s so cool about your teaching class, and your returning students!

    I love your snippet. Sounds epic!

    1. Exactly––part of me feels like January just started, but also SO much has happened since the beginning of the month. Haha yes I agree, I’d prefer to feel like I have a lot of time to get things done!

      I’m so excited about my new class! It starts today. I’m planning to post something about it within the next few days. 🙂

      Thank you!

  3. 0.0 Woah. That is quite the book. 150K words… and you’re writing YA? Have you thought about breaking it up into two books? I don’t mean to rain on your parade or anything, but a lot of agents, publishers, (and short-attentioned ya readers), will find a book of that size quite daunting. *reasons why so many YA books are trilogies* >.> *but that’s a different rant*

    Either way, this sounds like some amazing progress! And don’t you worry! You will get to the end of the draft. Sometimes it just takes a little longer. Trust me, I know. Hee hee. *side glances at four unfinished manuscripts* -.-

    Anyway! I’m looking forward to your progress in February and if you have any questions or just feel like chatting about writing (or music, because I’m a music geek too), hit me up! I’m always down for a chat.

    1. Oh don’t worry, I would never try to sell a book that long! Lol. 😛 It’s just that my first drafts are always absurdly lengthy, and then I end up cutting a good chunk of it. I cut over 70k words out of a manuscript once! So yeah, my final draft will be much more concise. 😀

      Thank you!! And yes, you can always chat with me about writing/music as well. In fact, I just remembered I still need to do my Music Monday post! Thanks for reminding me, haha.

        1. That’s pretty much exactly what happened to me! I wrote a YA book that was something like 165k words, and then I realized about a third of it was just needless rambling. I cut out a ton of words and I didn’t even change the plot that much. Seems to be a pattern with me. 😀 At least now I’m more aware of it, though!

          1. Right?! It’s like we have all these side-plots and world-building we want to do that don’t actually enhance the plot and are just filler content. *Sigh* Reasons novellas are becoming so popular. :p
            Though, I ended up changing the plot and world-building of that novel quite a bit, which made it a MUCH stronger book. *is so proud of it*

Leave a Reply

