Valentine’s Day: 10 of my OTPs!

Happy Valentine’s Day! Hope you have a lovely day whether or not you have a significant other. If you’re like me (aka you’ll probably be single for life, lol) it’s at least a good excuse to buy a lot of heart-shaped chocolate for yourself.

I’ve seen some other bloggers taking this opportunity to share some of their OTPs (in case you don’t know, OTP = One True Pairing) so I thought I would do the same! So without further ado, here are 10 of my favorite OTPs from various books, movies, and TV shows (in no particular order).


 

Percy & Annabeth

Percy Jackson & the Olympians and Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan –

70c195224a3d82027936276e3983df3c

“Because you’re my friend, Seaweed Brain. Any more stupid questions?”

Art from here

Todd & Viola

– Chaos Walking by Patrick Ness –

chaos___after_the_asking_by_leabharlann-d40l6tj

“It’s not that you should never love something so much it can control you. It’s that you need to love something that much so you can never be controlled.”

Art from here

 Hiccup & Astrid

– How To Train Your Dragon 

639px-How-to-Train-Your-Dragon-2-19

“What you’re searching for … It’s in here.”

Korra & Asami

– The Legend of Korra

tumblr_nkpnavx7T61rptk5lo2_1280

“I want you to know that I’m here for you … If you ever want to talk or … anything.”

Art from here

Alek & Deryn

– Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld and Keith Thompson –

leviathan___alek_and_deryn_by_rosemuse-d3bctr5

“He makes me feel like that. Like flying.”

Art from here

Cress & Thorne

– The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer –

35639436caaa3dcfdb9cc9d0aa9bce26

“Captain? … I’m in love with you.”

“I should hope so, after all that. … And I love you too.”

Art from here

April & Andy

– Parks and Recreation

tumblr_lulhz9tjNZ1qgxov6o1_500

“I guess I kind of hate most things. But I never really seem to hate you. So I want to spend the rest of my life with you. Is that cool?”

Ben & Leslie

Parks and Recreation

Parks-and-Recreation-Leslie-and-Ben

“I love Leslie. I want to be with her and I don’t want to hide the way I feel about her anymore. So yes, it was worth it, because I’m in love with Leslie Knope.”

(Yeah I’m a little obsessed with Parks.)

Ari & Dante

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz –

secrets_of_the_universe_by_peppernote-d8jexou

“And it seemed to me that Dante’s face was a map of the world. A world without any darkness. Wow, a world without darkness. How beautiful was that?”

Art from here

Pazu & Sheeta

Castle in the Sky

Castle-in-the-Sky-2

“No matter how many weapons you have, no matter how great your technology might be, the world cannot live without love.”


I could write like a five-page essay about each of these couples, but I will hold myself back. I’m trying to decide what really makes an OTP for me––and looking at all of this, I think the key thing is that I love a well-developed romance. I don’t like insta-love––I need to be shown that the characters love each other, not just told. Several of these pairings never even say that they love each other … but they don’t have to because it’s shown so well. ❤

How about you guys?

  • Do we share any OTPs? Do you have any to add?
  • What makes a good romantic fictional pairing for you?
9 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day: 10 of my OTPs!

  1. Great OTP choices. I really like that fan art pic of Todd & Viola–someone did nice work there. Also, yep, way to recognize those Parks & Rec OTPs. Those couples love each other so much, and they just click.

    1. Me too! (Or it’s one of my favorites anyway, haha.) Not only is it hilarious, but the character development and relationships are done so incredibly well. I don’t think there will ever be anything quite like it!

Leave a Reply

