#TopTenTuesday: Songs I Wish Were Books

#TopTenTuesday is a weekly meme started by The Broke and Bookish. I’ve seen other blogs participating in this meme for a while now, and now I’ve finally decided to join in on the fun!

There is a new “Top Ten” prompt every week. This week’s prompt is: 10 Songs I Wish Were Books. I really love this prompt and I’m excited to share my list! Music is one of my greatest writing inspirations, and there are a lot of amazing songs that spark my imagination. Here are ten of those songs, and some of the most intriguing lyrics from them!


 

Foxes – “White Coats”

Take my hand and lead me out from here
Hunted down their footsteps drawing near
I knew you would come for me
I’m sorry you’re in so deep

And if the men in white coats are coming
I know you’ll still be there for me
To chase down the walls around us
I keep the memories inside my mind
To show me how to leave the darkness
You will take me home one day believe me

Halsey – Castle

I’m headed straight for the castle
They wanna make me their queen
And there’s an old man sitting on the throne
that’s saying that I probably shouldn’t be so mean
I’m headed straight for the castle
They’ve got the kingdom locked up
And there’s an old man sitting on the throne
that’s saying I should probably keep my pretty mouth shut

MS MR – Dark Doo Wop

If we’re gonna die, bury us alive
If they’re searching for us they’ll find us side by side
That’s my, that’s my man
This world is gonna burn, burn burn burn
As long as we’re going down,
Baby you should stick around
Baby you should stick around

Of Monsters and Men – Dirty Paws

Her dirty paws and furry coat,
She ran down the forest slopes.
The forest of talking trees,
They used to sing about the birds and the bees.
The bees had declared a war,
The sky wasn’t big enough for them all.
The birds, they got help from below,
From dirty paws and the creatures of snow.

:papercutz – Where Beasts Die

I’ll follow you to where the scent of a new beginning leads.
Across a land we once knew,
where the wild boldly grew.
(I’ll follow you, I’ll follow you)
Can you hear the lone wolf howling into the night? With pride
We’ve traveled over the seas, far beyond our insecurities.
Now we’re finally reaching the lilac tree.
With all your perfect imperfections,
when I walk beside you I’m a better me.
I’ll will follow you to where beasts die.
Into the wild, we go, the great unknown.

Florence + The Machine – Howl

Now there’s no holding back, I’m making to attack
My blood is singing with your voice, I want to pour it out
The saints can’t help me now, the ropes have been unbound
I hunt for you with bloody feet across the hallow’d ground

Like some child possessed, the beast howls in my veins
I want to find you, tear out all your tenderness

Passion Pit – Moth’s Wings

You’re just like your father
Buried deep under the water
You’re resting on your laurels
And stepping on my toes
Whose side are you on?
What side is this anyway?
Put down your sword and crown
Come lay with me on the ground

Woodkid – Run Boy Run

Run boy run! The sun will be guiding you
Run boy run! They’re dying to stop you
Run boy run! This race is a prophecy
Run boy run! Break out from society

Tomorrow is another day
And you won’t have to hide away
You’ll be a man, boy,
But for now it’s time to run, it’s time to run

Beautiful Small Machines – Bring Out Your Dead

They dyed their eyes
They sewed their legs
Took off their heads
Hung them on pegs
it all began
Without much fuss
Someone whispered,
“They’re not like us”

I just wanna be myself
But they say,
“Hey-o, Hey-o, jump in the gun”
They say, “Right, left, turn around, shoot ’em and run”
They say, “Hey-o, hey-o, fall into line”
They say, “Right, left, turn around, join or you die”

Arcade Fire – Keep The Car Running

Every night my dream’s the same
Same old city with a different name
They’re not coming to take me away
I don’t know why, but I know I can’t stay
There’s a weight that’s pressing down
Late at night you can hear the sound
Even the noise you make when you sleep
Can’t swim across a river so deep
They know my name because I told it to them
But they don’t know where, and they don’t know when
It’s coming
When it’s coming

Hmm, I seem to have a thing for creepy songs! 😉 But also, I think what appeals to me about all these songs is their narrative quality. There seems to be some kind of story behind each of them that I’m missing out on––and I want to know those stories!

Are there any songs you wish were books? (Also if you’re a fellow #TopTenTuesday participant, feel free to link me to your post!)

6 thoughts on “#TopTenTuesday: Songs I Wish Were Books

Leave a Reply

