#WIPWednesday: 2/24/16

#WIPWednesday is my own weekly meme for discussing how my WIP is going. Anyone is free to join!

WIP: I Chose the Monster

Writing or Revising: Revising

Progress Since Last Week: Finished the outline of my first draft. Did a couple pages of brainstorming. Unfortunately, I did not get any editing done.

How It’s Going:

animated-rampage

Well, I think that about sums it up!

But seriously––I’m in a bit of a panic. Remember last week when I said editing was going okay and that I felt fairly confident I could get it done? HAHA, FORGET THAT. I have no idea what I’m doing. 

After editing the first few chapters, I started to have serious doubts. The pacing is weird. The characters aren’t interesting. The world-building is practically non-existent. The plot is repetitive and there’s still not much of a central conflict. There is so much to fix, and I don’t even know where to start.

*Takes deep breaths* I’m trying not to lose my mind. I know if I worry about everything at once, I’m never going to finish editing. I need to keep reminding myself that I won’t fix everything in the second draft. Or in the third draft, or maybe even the fourth draft. I’m going to need to go through this manuscript over and over again, and each time I can focus my attention on a couple things at a time.

I needed a bit of a break from physically editing, so mostly this week I focused on outlining and brainstorming. I finally finished my outline of all the scenes I wrote in the first draft. It’s eight pages long, which is pretty succinct considering the manuscript is currently like 380 pages. That’s probably a sign that most of the plot is not all that important right now.

As I outlined all the scenes, I also noticed how redundant a lot of them are. The plot seems to follow a formula of: “The characters go to a place. They get attacked! They escape. They go to a new place. They get attacked again!” Errrm so yeah, I need to work on that.

I’ve been thinking a lot about how I can improve the plot, and in the past week I’ve come up with some ideas that might help. So … I don’t know. I might have to rewrite a good deal of the book after all, but I guess that’s fine with me as long as it makes it better!

Goals For Next Week:

  • Edit & send a couple more chapters to critique partners.
  • Keep brainstorming for new draft.
  • Maybe try rewriting the first chapter or two and see if it works better … ?

WIPpet:

#WIPpetWednesday is a meme where writers share snippets of their WIPs. The only rule is that the snippet has to be related to today’s date somehow.

Today is 2/24/16. 2416=8. So, here is a snippet from Chapter 8 from Part of ICTM.

There’s a searing pain in my forearm as his teeth sink into my skin. I hear a long, piercing scream and I realize it must be coming from me, but it seems to come from somewhere else. It’s all around me, echoing off the walls of the alley.

BANG.

The explosion of a gunshot cuts off my shriek. At the same time, as I’m staring at the Mort still biting my arm, one side of his head explodes. Dark matter gushes from the wound, and I feel his jaws go slack before he slumps to the ground. I can’t even think or move before there’s another BANG, more wetness splashes against the back of my neck. I hear the Mort behind me let out a choking noise, and her grip on me also loosens as she also falls to the pavement.

I’m finally free, bending over and breathing hard. I clasp a hand around my arm where I’ve been bitten, and I see my own blood spilling out from between my fingers. I can’t even register what’s happening. How did … ? Who … ?


Thanks for joining me for another #WIPWednesday/#WIPpetWednesday!

How about you guys?

  • How are your WIPs going? What are your goals for this week?
  • If you’ve also posted a WIPpet, please link me to it!
8 thoughts on “#WIPWednesday: 2/24/16

  1. Nice little cliffhanger there. Well done. It’s those good bits that help me over the humps when I’m discouraged about the overall draft. You just have to accept that millions of drafts are in your future, and get on with it. One of my early novels is undergoing serious revision. It’s been a rotten seller, so of course, someone just bought a copy. I hope Amazon lets them know when the 2nd edition is published.

  2. OMG that’s how I feel right now lol. Great gif thing there. I picked up that book someone recommended, Rock your Revision. We’ll see if it helps…

    I actually went and created a written timeline for my entire book series. I kinda hate when books don’t chronologically make sense. People write time in a convenient manner. It’s raining in a month it rarely rains? blah. My books revolve around a college-semester-like schedule so I basically did 3 years worth of a timeline, but the third book actually spans longer than the others, going about a full year throughout, so that one is more detailed…so much for getting any writing done 😦

    I am going to look in my Bookmarks for a world building article that I read that I think would really help you out. I thought it was neat. Sorry your’e having a hard time. You’re making progress, don’t beat yourself up too much. It’s hard overall but I think your writing snippets are great. They flow smoothly and seem intense.. I am writing a book half your length and I had 12 drafts and it’s not even fantasy it’s just a romance. Like you said yourself, your’e worrying about everything at once. Take it a step at a time.

    Great snippet, very intense, definitely makes me want to read more!

    I am really enjoying going through progress reports. No Wippet from me yet, Probably on Friday since I post excerpts on Friday too. My daughter is driving me up the wall, I feel like an awful parent and am lacking motivation to do much posting/writing.

    1. Let me know how that book is! I checked out the preview on Amazon and it looked helpful and straightforward, so I might try it. 🙂

      I should probably make a timeline, too. I’m very bad at figuring that out in my head. Like, has it been days? Months? I have no idea, lol.

      Oh, thanks! Yes, please let me know if you find it. I struggle a lot with world-building, so I need all the help I can get. 😀

      Thank you, you’re totally right. I keep freaking out about everything at once, when I should focus on just tackling one thing at a time.

      Sorry you’re having a hard time with your daughter, but I’m sure you’re not an awful parent! And feel free to post me a link to your excerpt if you get around to posting it.

      1. Yes time lines definitely help keep your characters on track..a lot of authors also draw maps. First thing is world building. Then you know where everything is. I’m probably repeating advice you’ve heard. I will Dm you on twitter any links I find.

Leave a Reply

