The Ultimate Book Tag

I was tagged by Melanie Noell Bernard to do the Ultimate Book Tag! Thanks for tagging me. 😀 Let’s do this thing!


 

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Nope! It used to make me nauseated when I was a kid, but I always did it anyway … and I think I desensitized myself to it or something, because once I was a teenager it stopped making me sick. *shrugs*

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you?

PATRICK NESS! ❤ His trilogy Chaos Walking is one of the most original things I’ve read, and the writing style is so distinct. I know a lot of people don’t care for it (it’s written in dialect and a lot of words are spelled phonetically), but personally I find it really great and fitting to the story/characters. I also love that Ness changes up his style with every book he writes; it’s always something new and interesting.

chaoswalking

3. Harry Potter series or Twilight saga? Give 3 points to explain your answer.

*Headsmack* Honestly I’ve never liked this debate because like … they’re two very different series, and I don’t really see why we have to compare them just because they’re both popular.

I’ll be honest: when I first read the Twilight books in middle school, I really liked them. This was before the movies and the huge hype and everything. I have some fond memories of my friends and I talking about them. Now that I’m older, I definitely see that the relationships in them are problematic and the writing was not very good. But I also don’t really hate them. *shrugs* So … I’m pretty neutral about them I guess?

Another confession: I didn’t really read Harry Potter until like five years ago. *GASP!* So shocking, I know! But I finally did, and I loved them. In fact, I just finished re-reading the first book yesterday, and I plan to re-read the rest of the series as well. 🙂 Anyway, to get to the point, I prefer Harry Potter. My three reasons:

  • I love the meticulous and original world-building.
  • It has an awesome cast of characters.
  • J.K. Rowling obviously planned out the series really carefully. As I was re-reading the first book, I noticed all the subtle hints about things that aren’t explained until later books. I’m really blown away by how well she planned all seven books.

 

harrypotter

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what’s in it (besides books)?

*Scoffs* For me, EVERY BAG IS A BOOK BAG. Don’t underestimate my powers. If I have a tiny purse with me, I’ll still be like, “I wonder if I can fit a book into this.” But generally when I buy bags of any kind, one of my main criteria is that it has to be at least big enough to fit one book. As for what else I’ll keep in my bag––you know, the usual stuff. Phone, keys, wallet, chapstick, tissues … other necessities. 😛

5. Do you smell your books?

Aw yeah, I am a book sniffer. I love the smell of a nice old paperback. MMMM.

635897928861174033-753277226_new book smell

I feel ya, Rory.

6. Books with or without little illustrations?

I love illustrations! I wish more YA and adult books had them. I’m an artist as well as a writer, so I always appreciate illustrations, whether they’re full-page ones or just little ones at the beginnings of chapters.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

Oh boy. There are a bunch of books I liked as a child/teen that would probably not hold up if I read them again today. But one of the first big things that comes to mind is the Maximum Ride series by James Patterson (aka a bunch of ghostwriters who were probably forced to write each book on like a two-week deadline).

The_series

I read the first book when I was around 12 or 13, and I was obsessed with it. And to be fair, the first book was not as awful as some of the later ones. It at least started out with a fast-paced story, a group of characters that shared a strong bond, and some intriguing plot twists. The problem was … a lot of those plot twists were never explained or acknowledged again.

This series is so inconsistent, it’s cringe-worthy. As the books continue, it just gets worse and worse. The characters constantly discover they have new powers, but then only use them once and never mention them again. The main character describes her hair as like five different colors throughout the books. And that’s just the tip of the iceberg.

What’s probably worse than that, though, is that books 4 and onward are incredibly preachy. I don’t know what happened, but it turned from a sci-fi action series to “kids with wings try to prevent global warming and pollution.” I’m not kidding.

Ah-hem. So yeah. I really liked the first couple of books when I was younger, but as I got older and the books got worse, I realized there was not much effort going into them.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

Apparently when I was really little, I would do this thing where I’d pick up a book and start whacking one of my parents with it and saying something that sounded like “DANKU, DANKU.” They didn’t understand at first, but my mom eventually realized I was trying to say “thank you” and essentially I was thanking them in advance for reading to me. 😛

9. What is the tiniest book on your shelf?

Hmmm I think it’s probably The Elements of Style by E.B. White and William Strunk. It’s only like 100 pages.

the-elements-of-style

10. What’s the thickest book on your shelf?

Oh, it’s definitely The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas. It’s about 1,300 pages. *screams*

jhuusko_montecristo_Front

I tried to read it this past summer, and I just ended up getting distracted by other books. But I will finish it eventually! I WILL.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as an author?

I think anyone who follows this blog knows the answer to this, haha. But yes, I am a writer and I hope to be an author one day!

12. When did you get into reading?

Hmm, I’m not sure. I know I always loved it when my parents read to me. But I don’t think I enjoyed reading to myself until I was around 7 or 8. I feel like it was around third grade when I started to get really enthusiastic about books.

13. What is your favorite classic book?

I love a lot of classics, but I think my favorite is To Kill a Mockingbird. I was really sad to hear of Harper Lee’s recent passing. 😦 She wrote such an amazing and ground-breaking book.

tumblr_nj9htgyQuD1qio719o1_1280

14. In school, what was your best subject?

cf5c9376b6292902bf93c50b1630c009

… I was terrible at pretty much everything else, lol.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

I would smile and say thank you because I’m not a huge jerk? 🙂 And then maybe I would exchange it later on, I don’t know.

16. What is a lesser known series that you know that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

I’m kind of drawing a blank here, but I’ll go with something similar to The Hunger Games. But when I say “similar” I’m comparing them very loosely.

unwinddystology

The Unwind dystology by Neal Shusterman. I’m currently re-reading the first book, and it’s just as amazing as the first time I read it! I’ve read the second book too, but I have yet to read books three and four. From what I’ve read, though, this is one of the best dystopias out there. It’s very disturbing, compelling, and has some great world-building and morally complex characters. And like Hunger Games, it also has a lot of thought-provoking political undertones.

17. What is a bad habit you always do while blogging?

Probably my worst habit is writing posts that are way too long (like this one, hahaha).

18. What is your favorite word?

Huh, I’m not sure. I used to always say my favorite word was “kerfuffle” but nowadays I don’t really know. 😀

19. Are you a nerd, dork or dweeb? Or all of the above?

Honestly, I don’t really know what the difference is. I guess of the three, I think of myself as more of a nerd.

88ea98ac11b7ebeb94fe8c4af55a239d

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

I’m more partial to fairies. I know most people think of fairies as like … Tinkerbell. But the fairies from old Celtic mythology are actually quite scary and mischievous. That’s one of my main inspirations for The Waters and the Wild. 🙂

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Shapeshifters! I’ve read a few books about angels that I liked, but usually I’m not all that interested in them.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Hmm, I think spirits are a bit more interesting to me. There’s just so much interesting mythology about spirits from so many different cultures––and I’ve always been drawn to the idea of unseen spirits/ghosts floating around everywhere.

tumblr_nypsz5GB2p1uzjm64o1_500

23. Zombies or Vampires? Why?

Well, you know me. I am writing a zombie book after all (kind of, anyway), so I feel like I have to say zombies. I think it does depend a lot on the story, though. Vampires can also be very scary!

24. Love triangle or forbidden love?

Definitely forbidden love! I can’t think of a time I’ve ever been like “wow, this love triangle is great and totally necessary.” 😛

25. And finally: Full on romance or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

The latter. I love a well-developed romance, but usually I prefer that it doesn’t overshadow the plot too much.


This was really fun to do! Thanks again for tagging me, Melanie. 😀

As I think I’ve mentioned before, I’m a little shy about tagging people. But if you’re interested in doing this tag, just let me know and I will tag you!

Tagged:

17 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

  1. You’re an artist AND a writer?! *is totally an underachiever now* Do you have a Deviantart page for me to stalk your artwork on? 0.0
    Also, if you like illustrations, maybe you should get into graphic novels. Or maybe you should write one! 0.0 *is in awe of those people*

    Bahaha! I officially love your childhood memory. I totally want my future kids to thank me in advance for reading to them. Or even after because at least they enjoy reading then. ^.^

    Haha! Your favorite subject was art? (Pretty sure I failed art. That sums up my life in a nutshell. >.>) *cough*

    Isn’t ‘Unwind’ a horror novel? I thought I saw it in my Horror Reading Challenge’s Goodreads group recently… *is curious*

    Apparently we do not like the same supernatural creatures. Does that mean we’re not friends anymore? o.O (P.s. I like dark fairies, too. Light, fluffy fairies are boring [okay… -.- light, fluffy fiction is boring to me too. >.>])

    1. Yep! I don’t claim to be an amazing artist or anything, but at least it’s something I really enjoy. I do have a DeviantART page actually! It’s here. Mostly it’s fan art. 😛

      Hmm, I don’t exactly think of Unwind as horror. It’s definitely scary and disturbing, but I think of it as more of a sci-fi thriller? I think of horror as more like … blood-and-guts, which isn’t really what it’s like. But I guess I see how someone could classify it as horror.

      Haha yeah I noticed we said the opposite thing for pretty much all the creature questions! My opinions on those things aren’t really that strong, though. I like all kinds of supernatural creatures as long as they’re interesting, and I think it depends a lot on how the author characterizes them. 🙂 We can definitely still be friends, lol!

      1. Haha! You don’t even WANT to see my drawings. *cowers from own pictures* There are reasons I stick to writing. :p (Though, who knows if I’m any good at that either. Haha!)

        Well, thriller I think is generally classified as a sub-genre of horror. At least in movies. Gore I think has more to do with a ‘rating’ than a genre. :/ *could have an entire in-depth conversation about this*

        Oh! I dunno. I suppose I can handle when people do creatures, but when they start REALLY messing with the original lore, then I get upset. *cough* Twilight *cough* Sorry, I need my evil, blood-thirsty vampires. That burn in the sun, dang it! *grumbles to not tangent*

        1. Lol! Well from what I’ve read you are a great writer! 😀 But yeah, I typically feel a bit more confident in my writing abilities in my drawing abilities––although recently I’ve found that my art confidence has been growing a bit while my writing confidence has been declining. I think that could be because I put so much pressure to be good at writing, though––whereas I just kind of think of art as being something fun. I don’t really expect to make a career out of doing art, but I do really want to be an author. Maybe that’s why I’m so much harder on myself when it comes to writing. 😛

          I actually just Googled what the difference is because I was curious, haha. It seems like generally, “thriller” entails more use of suspense and and tension, while “horror” is more about scaring/disgusting the audience. It also seems like horror is generally linked more to the supernatural. But of course, both genres are pretty broad and their definitions are subjective, and a story can certainly fall under both categories. Personally, I’ve always thought of thrillers as being more psychologically scary while horror is more … viscerally scary, I guess?

          Haha, yeah the Twilight vampires were not so scary. 😀 I actually don’t mind that much if authors mess with creature lore, though; I like to see writers take original spins on old stories/mythology. But I do tend to prefer creatures that are more frightening!

          1. Aw. Thank you. I’m still learning to be a great writer, though. Always something new to learn. ^.^ (Bad habits are pesky :p) And I can see how that is. Pressure has a tendency to make something a little bit more difficult/strenuous/however you want to put it. Hobbies come more naturally because we do them for fun. Reasons why I don’t think I could be a full-time writer. I wouldn’t want writing to become a chore. You know?

            Hmm… Interesting. I also think the definitions for thriller and horror are rooted in the medium: text vs. film. Granted, they’re likely not that different, but Thriller I think is a bigger genre in film than in text, you know? (Maybe I just don’t know enough about text Thriller :p)

            I mean… I think creatures can be not frightening, and I love when people twist lore and re-make it, but I feel like some things just… shouldn’t be done. :/ What can I say? I’m picky. :p I also don’t touch zombies because of the limited possibilities with their lore… Sorry.

            1. You’re welcome! True, there is always something new to learn. I know what you mean; I also hope that writing never feels like too much of a chore.

              Yeah, I guess I also think of “thriller” as being more associated with films. But there are a lot of action/crime thriller books out there, too.

              Fair enough, haha. I actually don’t usually read things about zombies, either––I can only think of a handful of zombie books I’ve read, and I really can’t stand watching zombie movies/TV. And yet I ended up writing a book about them?? But also lately I’ve kind of been questioning whether the creatures in my book are actually zombies since they’re not technically dead. Eh, who knows. 😀

              1. Ah. There is the caveat. Are they actually a known supernatural creature, or are they something else? And if you make something else, are people going to be receptive of it or not? Playing with supernatural creatures is a dangerous game. Reasons why I stick to scifi. :p

                1. Exactly, haha! Like, I had started out with the intention of them being zombies more or less, but then there are enough differences that I wonder if they should be something made-up instead…? I don’t know, I’ll figure something out. 😛

  2. I listened to the audiobook of Unwind a while ago. It was very unsettling, in a way that I like and would read more of. I should see if my local library has any of the rest of the series.

    I want to tag in! 😀

  3. Pingback: The Ultimate Book Tag – at Milliways with a pen

  4. Pingback: Bookworm Monday #20 | Ginger St. George

  5. I used to be obsessed with the Maximum Ride books, too – a whole group of my friends were when they were knew. I really enjoyed the first three at the time, but after that I pretty much gave up on them…I haven’t even read the final two or three. I wonder how well they would hold up now if I went back to the first three? 🙂

    I’ve heard so many fantastic things about the Unwind series – I need to get my hands on a copy!

    1. Haha exactly, I had a bunch of online friends who liked the first few when they came out––but around book 4, they just got so terrible. Like, to the point where pretty much everyone who had loved the first 3 books all agreed it was bad. 😛 I kept reading them even though they were awful; I was curious what would happen and if they would ever get better again. But, nope! Honestly the 8th book was probably somewhere in the top five worst books I’ve ever read, it was that bad. And I’ve heard the 9th book (which just came out pretty recently) is even worse. o_o I imagine the first three books are not as good as I once thought they were––in retrospect, they were not very well-written and they had a ton of plot holes. But at least they were better than the books that followed.

      Yes, definitely read Unwind! It’s such an amazing series. One of the most unsettling dystopias I’ve ever read.

Leave a Reply

