Music Monday: 2/29/16

Happy leap day! An extra day to be productive, right? … Just kidding, I’m probably not going to get anything done. But hey, it can’t hurt to be optimistic!

It’s Monday, and you know what that means: another round of Music Monday! This week I’m bringing you two old favorites that always make me feel hopeful and inspired.


 

Arcade Fire – Wake Up

This is a pretty classic favorite for me, from Arcade Fire’s debut album Funeral (which is now like 12 years old, wow). I adore the lyrics of this song, and it just has such a “soaring” sound to it. Arcade Fire is one of my all-time favorite bands, and this is one of my favorite songs of theirs. It always makes me feel nostalgic and emotional.

Jónsi – Go Do

 

If you recognize the voice, you may know Jónsi Birgisson from his very famous Icelandic post-rock band Sigur Rós (which is a band I also love!). His debut work is slightly lesser-known, but his album Go is one of my absolute favorites (and definitely worth checking out if you need some atmospheric music for writing). “Go Do” is a beautiful song: the lyrics are sweet and inspiring, and the instrumentation is really innovative in my opinion.

There was a point like three years ago when I listened to this song NON-STOP. Like seriously, I remember walking between classes and just listening to it on repeat. I discovered it at a time in my life when I’d been kind of depressed for a while, and it always made me feel a little better. It still does.


 

Hope you enjoyed my music choices this week! To check out my previous music recommendations, you can look at my other Music Monday posts. Or you can listen to my Music Monday playlist on Spotify.

If you would also like to participate in Music Monday:

• Share 1-2 songs. It can be any genre, it can be something new or it can be an old favorite. Whatever you want!
• Share a music/lyric video of the song.
• Tell us some of your thoughts/feelings about the song, artist, and/or music video.
• Submit the link to your blog post at the bottom of Lauren’s most recent Music Monday post (where it says “add your link”).

2 thoughts on “Music Monday: 2/29/16

  1. I love Arcade Fire – I can’t believe their debut album came out 12 years ago…makes me feel old! 🙂 I hadn’t heard Go Do until but it makes me want to go out and listen to more of Jonsi and Sigur Ros. Thanks for linking up!

    1. Me too! And I know, right? I can’t believe it was that long ago. I guess I didn’t get into them until a few years after their first album came out, but still. Yay, I’m glad you liked the Jónsi song!

Leave a Reply

