#WIPWednesday: 3/9/16

Hey guys,

Sorry things have been a little slow around here lately! I know I haven’t been posting much besides weekly memes, but hopefully I can get up some more writing advice posts soon.

Anyway, it’s time for #WIPWednesday and my #WIPpet post!


 

WIP: I Chose the Monster

Writing or Revising: Revising

Progress Since Last Week: Edited two more chapters. Re-read a few more chapters of The Resurrectionists.

How It’s Going:

Not much to report, really. I’m still just trying to focus on light edits for now, and planning for bigger edits.

I’m also re-reading The Resurrectionists because I’m thinking about working on it for Camp NaNo. But I’m not sure yet. I’m also considering doing some other things for Camp, so … we’ll see.

Oh, and another thing! I am applying to be a writer-in-residence at the Boston Public Library. The application just came out and I’m hoping to get to it soon! I was a finalist last year, so I’m really keeping my fingers crossed for this year. 🙂

Goals For Next Week:

  • Edit two more chapters of I Chose the Monster.
  • Finish re-reading The Resurrectionists, maybe start thinking about what I might add to it if I decide to do it for Camp NaNo.
  • Start my BPL application. I’m pretty sure I’m going to enter with The Waters and the Wild as my proposed project again––so I should probably look over that, too, since it’s been a little while.

#WIPpet

#WIPpetWednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Emily at A Keyboard and an Open Mind. Participating writers share excerpts of their WIPs every Wednesday; it just has to be related to the date somehow.

Since today is March 9th, here are 9 sentences from a part I recently edited in I Chose the Monster.

The bus is parked by the side of the road, next to a chain link fence. Beyond the fence is a basketball court, standing between two apartment buildings. Many of the windows––especially the lower-level ones––have been shattered, and shards of their remains glitter on the sidewalk.

A dark green car is parked haphazardly at a slight distance ahead of us, positioned diagonally to the curb. Its back windows have been smashed, leaving behind jagged glass teeth around their frames. One of the front doors hangs open, and one of the seats is torn to shreds and bleeding yellowish stuffing. A dark stain splatters the pavement next to the car, and the sight makes bile rise to my throat.

Everyone around me has started to stand up, and the people at the front of the line shuffle their way to the front of the bus and down the stairs.

I rise to my feet, despite the violent trembling in my knees.

How about you guys?

  • Any progress to report on your WIPs? Goals for the week?
  • Post a link if you also shared a WIPpet!
10 thoughts on “#WIPWednesday: 3/9/16

  1. Geez that’s terrifying!! Having to exit off safe-ish bus, into that horrifying mess. Wow. Reminds me of Jeepers Creepers (sorry that totally dates me…)
    Good luck on the application for writer in residence. That sounds fun 🙂
    I’m interested, I’ve been hearing about Camp NaNo but don’t know much about it. Might look into that. I’m kind of trying to stay on top of my current series though, I don’t know. Hm
    I’ve actually made decent progress in my rewriting phase. I finished that book Rock Your Revision, mostly. It definitely has helped. It’s a quick read, though the actual editing process it recommends is not ha.

    1. Thank you!

      Camp NaNo is basically a NaNoWriMo that takes place in April (and there’s one in July, too). It’s more or less the same thing, except that you can set your own word goal. It’s also a bit more flexible in terms of what you work on: a lot of people use it to continue/finish projects they’re already working on. So it’s something to consider if you need a little boost of motivation!

      Yay, I’m glad your rewriting is going well! 😀 And thanks for letting me know about Rock Your Revision, I still need to get around to reading that!

      1. That sounds cool. July too? interesting. Rock your Revision, along with most writing resource type books, is the kind that you should read and then go back and flip through again. I think for me, it works best that way, to read through a portion of it first, and then go back and reread it while you’re working on revising. It is a very straightforward type of informative style writing, with ‘assignments’. I’m going to do a blog post on the three books I have used. I have to go back and reevaluate the other 2 before I write up the post though. But I recommend it for sure. It will help you set goals and give you a solid plan for how to revise. It definitely makes you think about your work.

  2. I agree with AM, the scene was intense. And I really like what you’re trying to do with the tenses but I think some of the ‘have been’s (Its back windows have been smashed) could be ‘are’s. English is a weird, tricky language when it comes to tenses though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

