Writer Q & A Tag

I was tagged by Sarah at Write It Anyway  to do the Writer Q & A Tag! Thanks Sarah. 🙂

The Rules: 

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link to their blog in your post.

2. Answer the questions that the blogger who nominated you has provided.

3. Nominate up to 10 other bloggers.

4. Create ten questions for your nominees and notify them of their nominations.

Sarah’s Questions (And My Answers!)

Do you keep a written list of goals? And if so, do you post them somewhere you’ll see them every day? Or do you prefer to keep it digital and stored in Evernote or something like that?

Yes and no. I tend to keep a mental list of goals (like, “okay, I’m going to try to edit at least one chapter this week”) and I tend to share my weekly/monthly goals in my WIPWednesday/WIPMarathon posts. I don’t have them hanging on my wall or anything, though––maybe that would help me actually reach them, haha.

If you could have a magic coffee maker or teapot that would make your favorite caffeinated (or herbal) drink any time you wished –without your ever having to buy ingredients for it, what would that drink be (doesn’t have to be the same exact drink every day. I’d get bored of the same thing, eventually), and how do you picture the actual coffee maker or teapot (For example, do you immediately think of the those food and drink makers on Star Trek TNG and Captain Picard saying, “Tea. Earl Gray. Hot”?)?

Lol! Well I’m a big coffee lover, so I’d have to say I would love a magic coffee pot. If it could dispense various flavors of coffee, that would be awesome. As for how I picture it … I don’t know, I’m kind of picturing it as a really big and fancy Keurig machine. 😀

As a general rule, when you’re working on the first draft of a novel or short story or nonfiction book, do you prefer to type or write by hand in a paper notebook or notepad?

Nowadays, I write almost exclusively on my laptop (on Scrivener), but I also have a notebook where I handwrite snippets/ideas. I entirely handwrote the first draft of my first novel, but it took forever (and the notebook fell apart like 20 times, lol).

Have you ever ruined a computer or electronic device by spilling something on it? (Full disclosure: I spilled wine on my laptop the other day, and my husband managed to get all the wine out of its insides, but he had to physically disconnect the permanently addled keyboard, so I’m typing this on an external keyboard plugged into one of the USB ports.)

Oh gosh––first of all, sorry about your laptop Sarah! Hope it’s okay. Does it smell really grape-y now? 😉

And to answer the question … yes. *bows head in shame* Last year, I spilled tea all over my laptop keyboard. I dried it off and it seemed fine for a while––and then about an hour later, a huge black splotch appeared in the corner of the screen and then quickly spread until the whole screen went black!

Understandably, I freaked out, especially because I was in the middle of doing my senior project for college and I was scared I’d lost a huge chunk of work. But then … a miracle happened. I left my laptop upside down over night (as per my mom’s advice––she’s a computer expert) and the next day it started working again! So I was extremely lucky. I have been extra careful with liquids around my laptop since then, though!

Are you a morning person or more of a night owl? What time of day is the best time for you to write?

Ugh, I’m definitely not a morning person. I love to sleep in! I’m more of a night owl––partly by choice, partly because I’m a terrible insomniac. I hardly ever write in the morning. Usually I write in the afternoon/evening, and sometimes I try to squeeze some words in late at night.

Do you need silence in the room where you write when you’re working? Or do you work better with music or white noise (anything but whining or sudden screams of “OW!!” which jolt you out of your writing zone and make you belt out something like, ‘What the hell?!” or “What?! What’s going on?”)?

Having grown up with a huge family in a small house, I really had no choice but to condition myself to work in noisy environments. I can tune out just about anything at this point. 😉 If I happen to be alone in the house while I’m writing (which is extremely rare, haha) I almost always put on some music. There are a lot of great instrumental playlists to write to on 8tracks.

What do you love most about blogging or about your own blog in particular?

Definitely the community of people I’ve met! Blogging has helped me meet so many wonderful writers and book bloggers. The blogging world is full of such supportive people, who are always so kind and encouraging. Plus I love reading everyone else’s posts and gaining inspiration from them. 😀

If you could live anywhere in the world (not necessarily for the rest of your life), where would it be?

I’m not sure where I would live specifically, but I always dream about living in a cute little old house somewhere near the ocean. That would be lovely!

If you had to choose between being able to communicate (and read) in any language instantly (without having to study the language) or being able to go anywhere at the speed of thought, which would you choose?

Oh, definitely travel anywhere at the speed of thought. I never travel because a) I can’t afford it and b) I have terrible travel anxiety, but I feel like being able to travel anywhere at will would help resolve those problems. 😉 I’d also love to learn every language, but honestly I love studying languages so I don’t really mind that it takes time, haha.

Would you rather be effortlessly persuasive or deeply empathetic? Or would you rather rid the universe of adverbs?

I’d like to think I’m already pretty empathetic, and I’m terrible at being persuasive––so I think I’d rather be effortlessly persuasive. 🙂 As for adverbs, they can be a pain, but I don’t want to get rid of them entirely!

Thanks again for tagging me, Sarah! These questions were so much fun to answer. 🙂


 

My Questions: 

  1. Who do you think is your greatest writing influence?
  2. Where is the strangest (or most unexpected) place you have ever gotten a story idea?
  3. Do you try to write a certain number of words per day/week/month, or do you just write as much as you feel like?
  4. What is your favorite genre to write, and why is it your favorite?
  5. What is the first book you remember reading?
  6. What is the first story you remember writing?
  7. Whenever you feel stuck in your writing, how do you get yourself unstuck?
  8. If you could meet any author, who would it be?
  9. Are you a planner or a pantser? (That is, do you plan out your stories, or do you make them up as you go?)
  10. Do you listen to music as you write? If so, what kind of music do you listen to?

I tag:

Sara Beth at Life, Love, Writing
Shanjeniah at Shanjeniah’s Lovely Chaos
A.E. Browne
creativewriter at Creative Writing For Me
Rachel at Rachel Also Writes

… And if anyone else wants to be tagged, just let me know!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Writer Q & A Tag

  1. I loved Sarah’s questions!!! yes I have spilled liquid on my laptop keyboard!! it totally ruined my keyboard but my screen was fine. I just couldn’t use my keyboard or mouse at ALL. I had to call in a college computer tech friend He replaced the keyboard with another keyboard, which is kinda tricky b/c he said “well, because it’s not technically, the officail Toshiba part, it might not work” lol. But it did…yey!

    Onto your questions now.

Leave a Reply

