#WIPWednesday: 3/23/16

#WIPWednesday is a meme I started to post an update about how my WIP is going each week. Other writers are totally welcome to join!


 

WIP: I Chose the Monster

Writing or Revising: Revising

Progress Since Last Week: ….. UHHHH.

How It’s Going:

I … did not really get any work done this week. Basically, I’ve been thinking I need to change my approach to editing ICTM. This whole thing where I’m trying to do “light edits” while also juggling new ideas for the next draft is not working out all too well. At this point, I have several different versions of the story spinning around in my head, and I can’t seem to make up my mind about what I want to do. I think I might need a little distance from the story before I continue with revisions. Maybe I dove into editing too soon, and I’m not quite ready for it yet.

Camp NaNo might be a good break from editing, and all month I’ve been debating over whether or not I should participate. The question is: if I do participate, what should I work on? I’ve thought about using Camp to either work more on The Resurrectionists or The Waters and the Wild (or a little of both??), but I’m not sure yet. Guess I still have a week to decide! One thing I do know is that I really miss writing (rather than editing, that is), and I’d really love to get back to it.

In any case, I think I should prioritize applying to the BPL writer-in-residence program. The deadline is in less than a month and I still have to fill out the application form, as well as write a plot synopsis and a book proposal … so, I should probably start that!

Goals For Next Week:

  • Start that book proposal & synopsis (like I’ve been saying I would do for the past like three weeks)!
  • Decide whether or not I’m going to do Camp NaNo––and if so, I need to choose what the heck I’m going to write. 😛

WIPpet

#WIPpetWednesday is a meme started by Emily at A Keyboard and an Open Mind. The only rule: Every Wednesday, post a snippet of your WIP that is related to today’s date somehow.

3*23+20+16=105, so … I went to a random page of I Chose the Monster, and here are 105 words from it.

Now I can see there’s sweat breaking out on his forehead. “I don’t think it’s as bad as … it looks.”

“Shut up,” Juliet snaps, although I can hear the worry in her voice. “Enough with the hero act. We just need to get back to the motel, and I think it’s only a few minutes away. Do you think you can keep walking?”

Gavin says nothing for a second, but then he nods.

“Okay,” Juliet says. “Good.”

She keeps walking. I hang back, waiting for Gavin. “Are you sure?” I ask him.

He doesn’t look at me. “Yeah, yeah. It’s okay. Don’t worry about me.”

Spoiler: he’s not okay. 😈

*whistles innocently* ANYWAY. That’s it for WIPWednesday! Thanks for joining me.


How about you guys?

  • Tell me about what you’ve been working on this week!
  • If you also wrote a #WIPWednesday and/or #WIPpet post, please link me to it. I’d love to read it!
2 thoughts on “#WIPWednesday: 3/23/16

  1. Back in October I felt the same way. I missed writing. I was overwhelmed with editing. I took November off and worked on a new WIP draft. It’s good to take a break and write. For me iit was therapeutic. Im glad I am not the only one that misses writing like that on occasion.

Leave a Reply

