Top Ten Tuesday: Recent 5-Star Reads

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their blog for upcoming TTT topics, and to link up to your post if you’ve written one!

Today’s theme is: 10 Of My Most Recent 5 Star Reads (Or Ten Of The Best Books I’ve Read Recently)

I’m a picky reader, so I don’t give out 5 stars easily! But these are the most recent 10 books I’ve given 5 stars on Goodreads. (A few of these are re-reads, but I’m going to count those anyway. :P) Ordered from least to most recent.

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

51LKTQmvKxL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

18659623

Lumberjanes, Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy by Noelle Stevenson

22554204

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles, #4) by Marissa Meyer

13206900

Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel

6a00d8341dc73753ef0120a95a2896970b

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
(re-read)

3

Unwind by Neal Shusterman
(re-read)

764347

The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie

24790901

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2) by J.K. Rowling
(re-read)

15881

UnWholly (Unwind, #2) by Neal Shusterman
(re-read)

13545075


As you can see, I’ve been doing a lot of re-reads lately. And I’ve also been on a bit of a graphic novel kick, since I’m trying to read more graphic novels/comic books this year (and I’m not super familiar with the genre––so if you have any recommendations, please let me know!). 🙂

How about you guys?

  • Do we share any 5-star/favorite books?
  • If you also wrote a TTT post, please link me to it! I’m always on the lookout for book recs. 😀
15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Recent 5-Star Reads

  1. I have thought about joining this meme but sometimes the list options don’t really appeal to me. This one does though!!
    I’m also very picky because I find myself being an amatur editor while I read lol

    My top 5 star reads within the last 12 months I think ish…
    A time to Die: Nadine Brandes
    A time to Speak: Nadine Brandes
    The Choice: Amanda Tru
    The Locket: Amanda Tru
    Today: Amanda Tru
    First of her Kind: K.L. Schwengel (sp??)
    The Restorer: Sword of Lyric

    Btw (hides) I’ve never read any of the Harry Potter books…(runs away)

    1. It’s a fun meme, and it’s usually pretty quick to do! And it’s a good way to find book recs and cool book blogs. 😀 I don’t do it every week, though. Like you said, sometimes I’m not really inspired by the theme. But when a good one comes up, I participate!

      I haven’t heard of any of those, but I will look them up!

      Haha that’s ok. I actually didn’t read them until a few years ago. There was just sooo much hype about them when I was a kid, it kind of turned me off from reading the series; I don’t really know why, I guess because I thought I was too cool for them, lol. But I finally read them in high school and really enjoyed them! And I’m loving them even more as I re-read them. They’re a lot of fun and have so many great characters. 🙂

      1. I tend to stay away from books that are hyped too. Except apparently the Hunger Games, which I picked up pretty quick. I’ve watched all the Harry Potter movies within the last 2 years so I’ve got a handle on the storyline and characters. Everyone keeps saying how awesome the books are so…maybe someday. Sometimes I like long books, sometimes I don’t like long books…maybe I don’t like reading hyped books b/c I’m afraid I’ll be disappointed.
        I finally finished that Writer Q and A tag. Takes me forever to find people to tag 🙂

        1. It depends for me. Nowadays I’m more willing to try hyped books, but only if I think I might like them to begin with. (Also I usually seek out the opinions of my most-trusted reviewers first, haha.) But yeah, I also am always nervous about trying a super-hyped book because I don’t want to be disappointed. And I’m also intimidated by really long books, so I understand that too. Oh yay, I will check out your post! Haha same here, I am so bad at tagging people. 😛

Leave a Reply

