#WIPpetWednesday: 4/6/16

Hey guys! I’ve decided that for the month of April, I’m going to skip my usual #WIPWednesday post and just stick to posting my #WIPpet for each week. Why, you ask? Because I’m doing Camp NaNoWriMo, so I figured that I’d do the same kind of weekly update that I posted during NaNo in November. Tomorrow marks the end of the first week of Camp NaNo, so stay tuned for more updates on that!

If you didn’t know already, I’ve decided to take a month-long break from I Chose the Monster to work on The Resurrectionists for Camp NaNo. So this week, my WIPpet comes from the latter.

#WIPpetWednesday is a meme started by Emily at A Keyboard and an Open Mind. The rules are simple: every Wednesday, post a snippet from your WIP, with the word count being related to the date somehow.

Today is 4/6, so here is the first paragraphs of chapter 4. (The 6th paragraph should probably be like 3 paragraphs but lol oh well, I’ll leave it for now.)

It was another minute or so before Matthias felt as if he could breathe again––and even then, his chest still ached as if a giant stone had been crushing him.

At last, Henry gave a low whistle and interrupted the silence. “Can you believe that?”

“I’m not sure if I do,” Gabriel muttered. He had been rather quiet during the whole ordeal, and now he nervously adjusted the hat on his head. “She could’ve been lying.”

The other two said nothing. They all watched as Lena disappeared into the shadows. Not long after, a light appeared on the hill––a lantern in the near distance, which seemed to be her indication to them that she was still there.

“At any rate, she knows all our names now,” Henry said. “No matter what, she has the power to turn us all in if she wants to. So … I don’t know. I suppose we might as well finish this if she is, in fact, going to let us get away with it. What are you thinking, Matt?”

The question caught Matthias off-guard, and he shook his head. “I …” He looked down at the shovel, which he had dropped at his feet. He looked at the meager hole he had started to dig. Again, he looked back up to the top of the hill where he could see Lena’s lantern flickering in the distance. The rational part of him argued that he should go after her and tell her that they weren’t going to go through with this after all. It was a terrible idea. It was wrong. Besides, he didn’t even know if Cyrus was sane, or if he was truthful. Maybe the professor wasn’t working on anything miraculous. Maybe he wasn’t going to pay them as well as he’d promised to and Matthias would have nothing to repay Lena with. But on the other hand, he felt like it was too late to turn back. And if it was all true––if Cyrus really was working on something important, if he really was going to pay them handsomely, if there was really a chance of this becoming something significant … he realized he didn’t want to give it up.

How about you guys?

  • Are any of you also doing Camp NaNo? What are your projects/world goals?
  • If you also posted a WIPpet, please link me to it!
9 thoughts on “#WIPpetWednesday: 4/6/16

  1. I have a new book coming out this month. I’ll be finalizing that and continuing my serial story on my blog as well as starting the next book and I’ve got another serial story on tap. I like the old school method of posting a new chapter each week. It’s how writers like Charles Dickens and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle published…not on blogs, obviously, but in newspapers.

    1. Congrats on your book coming out!

      I used to do something similar when I was a teenager (posting stories online chapter-by-chapter that is) and it was a lot of fun. 🙂 I’ve been thinking it would be cool to do a serial story at some point!

  2. I feel a pivotal moment coming on, here…well played. You’ve got me wondering what is going to happen next…and what happened before this, too.

    I’m doing CampNaNo and the #atozchallenge, with extended versions of the flash fiction there being offered on ff.net. I haven’t drafted any new Camp words for a week, almost; needed to get ready and take a weekend trip with my kids. Since we were visiting friends, my focus was on that.

    I’m catching up a bit today, though, and tomorrow night I have a write-in to attend. I plan to dive back in then.

    Good luck as you continue on with the challenge! =D

    Boldly Going Through the Alphabet!
    @shanjeniah
    Part-Time Minion for Holton’s Heroes
    shanjeniah’s Lovely Chaos

Leave a Reply

