Camp NaNoWriMo (April 2016): Week Two

As of yesterday, week two of Camp NaNoWriMo has come to an end. For all of you who are participating, I hope you’re making good progress and cranking out those words! Week two always seems to be the hardest, so I hope you are all pushing through. I believe in you! 😀

In case you missed my update last week: I am using Camp NaNo to continue working on The Resurrectionists, which I started in November for NaNo ’15. My monthly goal is 15,000 words (500 words a day), which will bring the whole manuscript to around 65k.

camp-nanowrimo-logo

Week Two Progress Report:

Last Week’s WC/CC: 53,605 words / 21 chapters

Current WC/CC: 57,563 words / 23 chapters

Progress since last week: 3,958 words / 2 chapters

Progress so far this month: 7,069 words / 4 chapters

How It’s Going:

Week two was a bit tougher for me than week one. I still managed to stay on track and to write every day, which is great! However, I felt like the actual writing was a bit rough this week. I kept putting off writing until late at night, and at that point it just kind of felt like a chore. Like, “I have to do this or I can’t go to sleep, so I’d better do it.”

As a result, I feel like the two chapters I wrote were not particularly exciting or interesting; they both consist of somewhat lengthy conversations that don’t seem to have much of a point. In some ways it’s been helpful, though, because it’s made me realize I need to work more on my characters’ personalities and motivations. I keep starting scenes thinking, “Okay, what do the characters want in this scene?” And then I discover … I don’t really know. So, that’s a bit of a problem.

Additionally, as I said last week, I’m still playing things by ear. That is, I’m essentially making this story up as a go. In a way, it makes things feel more spontaneous and fun––but also, I feel like at times I wander too much from the main plotline because I don’t know how much I should be revealing yet. I think I’m getting into some of the more important chapters soon, though, so hopefully I will have some more interesting things to write in the next few days.

An Excerpt From This Week:

Cyrus walked along the length of the desk, trailing his fingers along the edge. “Yes,” he said, “I believe she’s going to be all right. I didn’t have time to check on her progress this morning, but Alice and Isaac are taking good care of her, I’m sure.”

“Alice and Isaac,” Matthias repeated. “You told me they were––that you’d …” He couldn’t seem to form the words, because they still seemed too preposterous to believe.

“Yes.” Cyrus smiled again. He had now walked around the desk, and stood facing Matthias with his hands clasped behind his back. “I brought them back.”

“You resurrected them.”

“Well …” Oddly enough, the professor chuckled. “It sounds so serious when you put it that way.” When he saw the shock on Matthias’s face, he sobered. “I’m sorry, I suppose I shouldn’t be joking about it. You’re right, Winters. It is quite a feat––a miracle, one might say. But I can’t take all the credit for it.”

Matthias frowned, not understanding. “Someone’s helping you?”

The professor looked down suddenly, and turned to look out the small classroom window. “Not exactly.”

“I don’t understand, professor.”

“I’m sorry. What I meant to say is … not anymore.”

Something about his distant expression, and the grim tone to his voice, prevented Matthias from asking further questions.

Cyrus cleared his throat. “I can’t go into detail––not now, anyway. But I can tell you, I once had two … colleagues, I suppose you could call them. Many years ago. Brilliant men, both of them. Unfortunately, we went out separate ways.”

Something about the vague anecdote seemed unsettling to Matthias, although he couldn’t quite place what it was. But he had the sense that there was a lot more to the story than that.

Happy end of Week Two! We’re halfway through Camp NaNo already, and I wish the best of luck to anyone else who is participating. 😊

12 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo (April 2016): Week Two

    1. But what’s really exciting is that even though week two is hard and we struggle, we’re still chugging forward for week three. Seriously: that’s a big deal. It would be so easy to give up when week 2 is difficult. So, I call it a win 🙂

    1. Aw, I’m sorry. I’ve kind of been in the same boat. I did a lot of traveling this past weekend and the weekend before that, so that kinda wiped me out and made me fall behind. Plus I’ve been feeling a little stuck with my story. But hopefully I will be able to make it up this week.

  1. I agree! I’m struggling with week two. I cheated and lowered my word count. (I”m editing and was afraid to delete anything because I wouldn’t meet the goal.). I feel better now though, despite cheating. Good luck, make weeks 3&4 strong.

    1. Haha I don’t think that’s cheating! After all, the word goal can be anything you want. 😉 And it sounds like you made the right choice; doing your best editing is more important than reaching a specific word goal. Thanks, good luck to you too!

Leave a Reply

