Camp NaNoWriMo (April 2016): Week Three

Only a little more than a week of Camp NaNoWriMo left! I’ve been a bit busier than usual lately, so I’ve fallen slightly behind. But I still think I can catch up in these last 9 days.

tumblr_inline_mj7qb7lyJY1qz4rgp

Week Three Progress Report:

Last Week’s WC/CC: 57,563 words / 23 chapters

Current WC/CC: 60,156 words / 24 chapters

Progress Since Last Week: 2,593 words / 1 chapter

Progress So Far This Month: 9,656 words / 5 chapters

How It’s Going:

In terms of word count, this has been my worst week so far. I’m trying not to despair about it, though. At least I’ve kept up my streak of writing every day this month, so that’s something to be proud of! And I’m not too behind on my goal, so I think I can still make my 15k monthly goal.

As for the story itself, I’m still floundering a little bit. I didn’t write as much as I wanted to this week, so I’m still working my way towards some more interesting chapters. But I think in the last week, I’ll be writing some more fast-paced scenes.

An Excerpt From This Week:

Sure enough, when Gabriel lifted his head, he saw Matthias sprinting down the street––dodging the other people around him, his coattails flapping madly in the wind.

“Henry, Gabriel!”

Gabriel smiled, surprised by how genuinely relieved he felt. “Told you he wasn’t dead.”

“You didn’t, though.” Henry pocketed the few coins they had made, and stuffed his hat back on his head. “You just said it wouldn’t be funny if he was dead.”

There was no more time to argue about it, because just then Matthias came stumbling to a halt in front of him. Bright redness dappled his cheeks, and he bent over for a moment to catch his breath.

“Good God, Matt. Is something wrong?” Henry demanded, stepping forward.

Matthias waved him off. “No, no. I just ran from the school, that’s all. I realized I forgot to come by this morning and tell you I was fine.” He stood up straight again, adjusting the collar on his jacket. “It was just … I was running a bit late, and I had an exam. And I needed to pay Lena first.”

“Ah, that’s right,” Henry said. “Lena.” He drew out her name as if it had some kind of secret significance, but he sobered when Gabriel threw him a look. “So, how is she? She didn’t decide to … turn us in, I take it?”

“Not that I’m aware of,” Matthias said, finally starting to get his breath back. “In fact, she said she would help us again if we needed it.”

“Again?” the Beckett brothers both said at once.

“You can’t be serious,” Gabriel said. “I thought this was just …” He couldn’t even seem to find the words to finish the sentence.

Matthias looked between them with a surprisingly shocked expression, as if he couldn’t understand why they weren’t thrilled about stealing dead bodies.

And that’s a wrap on Week Three! For those of you who are also working on something for Camp NaNo, good luck in the sprint to the finish line. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo (April 2016): Week Three

Leave a Reply

