Camp NaNoWriMo Wrap-Up (April 2016)

I’ll just cut to the chase: I didn’t win Camp NaNo. My goal was to add 15k to The Resurrectionists by the end of the month, and I got to a little over 11k.

I’m not upset about it, though. After several months of being stuck in a rut, it felt great to actually make some progress. I may not have reached my goal, but I still wrote something, and that’s what matters.

camp-nano

Week Four Progress Report:

Last Week’s WC/CC: 60,156 words / 24 chapters

Current WC/CC: 61,909 words / 25 chapters

Progress Since Last Week: 1,753 words / 1 chapter

Total Progress This Month: 11,444 words / 6 chapters

How It Went:

I wrote almost every day this month, and I’m happy about that. On average I probably wrote like 400 words a day, and that’s not bad!

Unfortunately I just totally burned out in the last few days, but I think that was probably for the best. I got to a point in the story where I felt like I need to plan more. For most of the month I was basically winging it, but towards the end of the month that didn’t seem to be working so well anymore.

I think the problem is that there are a ton of important characters in The Resurrectionists, and I’ve reached a point where I need all their storylines to converge without it seeming too forced. Additionally, I think some of the characters’ motivations need to be clearer in order for the story to work––so that’s something else I need to think about before continuing.

An Excerpt From This Week:

Suspicion seeped into Jackson’s mind once again—and this time, he was fairly certain he wasn’t imagining things: This pair was acting notably strange. The forced smiles. The glittering eyes.

Clearing his throat, Jackson stopped in his tracks and faced Malcolm and Cecilia. “Thank you for walking with me,” he said, struggling through the fog in his brain and concentrating very hard on not slurring his words. “I’m feeling much better, though, and I think I can make it the rest of the way on my own.”

“Oh?” Cecilia stepped forward, her brow furrowed in a concerned expression that wasn’t quite convincing. “Are you certain?”

“Yes, quite certain.” Again, Jackson noticed how rude he sounded as soon as he had spoken the words. But at this point, he didn’t care. A dark, cold feeling rushed over him as he took in the two faces before him. The more he looked at them, the more they looked like masks rather than actual human features.

Without even bothering to say good night, he turned on his heel and started to run. His vision swam and his feet stumbled on the cobblestones, but he breathlessly forced himself forward.

All at once, there was a chilling rush of air around him––something that bit through his clothes and skin much more sharply than a gust of wind.

He didn’t have time to cry out before he felt something squeeze tightly around his throat.

That’s all for now, folks! Week 4 is over, and so is Camp NaNo for this month.

As for what I’ll be working on in May, it’s up in the air right now. I’ve been thinking it might be a good month to just catch up on research/planning, since that’s something I need to do for … all of my WIPs, really. Whatever I end up doing, I’ll certainly keep you all updated. 🙂

How about you guys?

  • Did you participate in Camp NaNo? If so, how did it go?
  • What are your writing plans for May?
2 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo Wrap-Up (April 2016)

  1. Great excerpt! My camp NaNo recap is here. https://authorswilliams.wordpress.com/category/nanowrimo/
    I think when it’s all said and done, I did accomplish a lot during Camp NaNo with my limited schedule. The days I did write, I wrote a LOT and the days I didn’t write, I read. Did I want to accomplish more? yes. Same with you of course. But I’m glad you’re not upset because when you work on a project long enough to discover the various aspects that need to be done to fix it, that is progress 🙂
    Right now, I’ve been alternating through WIPs each month. Probably going back to Book 2 and then Book 1 and then decide what in the world I want to do (publish, query…idk)

    1. Thanks for the link, I will go check out your recap! 🙂 Glad to hear that you were happy with your progress! I also keep alternating between projects, haha. I’m just so bad at making up my mind. 😛

Leave a Reply

