#TopTenTuesday: My Favorite Websites & Apps

#TopTenTuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their blog to find out about all the awesome TTT themes!

This week’s theme:

Ten Websites I Love That Aren’t About Books (you could go specific and do like top ten favorite food/travel/craft/fitness blogs I follow, 10 websites I visit daily,  10 fun websites I waste a lot of time on etc.)

Haha well, my most-visited website is Goodreads, but I guess I’ll have to leave that out! Otherwise I mostly only use social media websites, and also I’ve decided to expand my TTT to favorite apps as well as websites. So, here we go: my favorite (non-book-related) social media websites and apps!

Social Media:

img_logo_bluebg_2x

Tumblr

Hooooo boy, I’m a big Tumblr fan. It can be a crazy place, but I’ve also found it to be a great way to connect with fans of all the things I love.

fb-art

Facebook

What can I say? I enjoy seeing what my friends/family are up to!

 logo_tweeter

Twitter

I love Twitter and, as I’ve said before, it’s actually a great way to meet other writers.

lastfm

Last.fm

As someone who is obsessed with music, I am constantly on Last.fm. Honestly this website has changed my life and helped me find out about so many bands/artists I’d never heard of before.

Apps

duolingo_logo

Duolingo

A free and fun app for language-learning! I’m currently using it to learn German and French, and to brush up on my Spanish as well.

multi-color_logo_thumbnail200

Instagram

Yep, I’m that annoying person who Instagrams everything. I just love taking pretty pictures and making them look nice with the filters!

snapcode-300x300

Snapchat

I’m a frequent Snapchat-er as well. And I love watching my friends’ stories to get a glimpse of what they’re doing with their lives. 😀

250px-neko_atsume_logo

Neko Atsume (Kitty Collector)

Oh my gosh this app is THE. CUTEST. THING. EVER. It’s relatively simple: you just set out cat food/toys and CUTE LITTLE CATS APPEAR. And then the cats leave you fish and you can use them to get more items/backgrounds. (And the nice thing is, nothing bad happens to the cats if you forget to feed them. They just don’t show up.) It’s super adorable, and it always cheers me up a little.

Here is one picture of my “yard:”

12495137_10209392137788328_6590246045595935090_n

AWWW.

257251_1413363711_3515

1 Second Everyday

This is an app where you can create “projects” made up of 1-second video snippets. For example, I started one on January 1st that’s one second for every day in 2016. It’s a cute way to capture the little moments in your everyday life.


How about you guys?

  • Do you use any of these sites/apps? What do you think of them?
  • Do you have any other sites/apps to recommend?
  • If you also wrote a TTT post, please post a link and I will check it out!
12 thoughts on “#TopTenTuesday: My Favorite Websites & Apps

    1. Awesome!! I love how many languages you can learn with it, and they’re always working on adding new ones (and expanding on the ones it already has). It just makes me want to learn ALL THE LANGUAGES. 😀

  1. Jay Argall

    I’ve been using Duolingo too! I’ve found that Memrise is also useful for language learning, especially when I pair it with Duolingo.

    1. Thanks for recommending Memrise! I hadn’t heard of it, but I just signed up and I really like it from the couple lessons I tried. One weakness of Duolingo is that I feel like sometimes there are too many new words/phrases in one lesson, and it seems like with Memrise it’s more focused on learning a couple specific words/phrases per lesson, so I like that about it. 🙂

  2. I’m definitely Tumblr Trash, haha. I’m also addicted to Twitter and I love last.fm for the reasons you mentioned! I totally forgot to include it in my post. I went through a phase where I was obsessed with Neko Atsume, but I haven’t checked it in soo long 🙈. I’ve been using Duolingo recently! I’m trying to teach myself Spanish, but it’s not going too well 😂

    1. Gosh me too. It’s kind of scary how much time I can waste on Tumblr without even realizing it, lol. It’s just so addicting! Last.fm is so great; I’m always scrobbling my music, and I’m kind of obsessed with looking through my charts. There’s something satisfying about it for some reason! Haha oh no your poor kitties––well like I said, luckily nothing bad happens to them if you don’t feed them. 😀 Hahaha, Spanish is really hard. I took Spanish classes 3rd-12th grade and I still feel like I can barely speak it! I feel like I’ve been making pretty good progress with German on Duolingo, but for some reason French is much more difficult for me. The pronunciation of words is just … WHAT. When I try to speak it I feel like my mouth is full of marbles. 😛

      1. Oh my god, yes! I totally get what you mean about looking through your charts! I’m always doing that 😂

        Ooh that’s awesome!! I’m so bad at the pronunciation with the Spanish words and especially when you need roll your “Rs” because I can not do that so it sounds so wrong haha!!

  3. I only just recently joined twitter and it’s ridiculous how addicting it is. blah. (It’s okay, that’s a good thing, sometimes…)
    Your cat app looks adorable. So I used to have this kid app for my daughter called Yo Gabba Gabba babies. It’s ridiculous it’s for kids right, (we watched the show all the time) but I LOVED THE APP B/C all the little characters were baby-fied and it was SO CUUUTE.
    Ahem 🙂

Leave a Reply

