Music Monday 5/23/16 – Artist Spotlight: Birdy

Hey everyone! Sorry I’ve been rather absent lately and a bit inconsistent with my weekly memes. I was kinda busy during the past couple weeks, and as a result I’ve been a little scatterbrained and not very productive. But I will try to be more on top of things!

One bit of exciting news is that I am going to meet Maggie Stiefvater on Thursday. Omg I am SO SO EXCITED (and a little nervous because I always act like an idiot when I meet authors I greatly admire). I’ll be sure to write a post about it this weekend.

Anyway, on to Music Monday––a weekly meme hosted by Lauren at Always Me. The only rules are: 1) Every Monday, post 2-3 songs that you like, 2) Write a comment about them if you want, 3) Add a link to the post in the link-up on Lauren’s blog.

I’ve decided I want to try something a little different with my Music Monday posts, at least for the time being. I like how Lauren highlights a different artist every week, so I’m going to try the same thing.

My artist of the week is …

Birdy

bg210_030_182-birdy-hi-res

About: Birdy is the stage name of UK singer-songwriter Jasmine Van den Bogaerde. When she was only 14, she released a haunting cover of Bon Iver’s “Skinny Love,” which made it to #17 on the UK Singles Chart. She now writes and performs her own songs and has released three studio albums.

Genres: Folk, pop

Albums: Birdy  (2011), Fire Within (2013), Beautiful Lies (2016)

 

I really love Birdy’s voice––it has such a powerful and ethereal quality to it that reminds me of other powerhouses like Adele and Florence Welch. And the fact that she recorded that Bon Iver cover at such a young age just blows my mind!

Thanks for joining me for another Music Monday! Feel free to link me to your own Music Monday post if you wrote one. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Music Monday 5/23/16 – Artist Spotlight: Birdy

  1. Ooh, Maggie Stiefvater! I met her in St. Paul in the fall of 2012 when she was on her Raven Boys tour. That’s when I bought The Raven Boys, and I’ve bought every book in the cycle since then (which I rarely do!). Hope you have fun!

    1. Ahh that’s awesome! I saw her speak at an event in 2011 I think … it was a few months after the last Wolves of Mercy Falls book had come out and I don’t think The Raven Boys had been published yet. Unfortunately I didn’t get to talk to her afterward though, so I’m really glad I’ll finally have the chance! Same here––I also own every book in the series and I’m very picky about what I buy, especially brand new books. I still need to get a hardcover of the first book though, since I only own it in paperback (and I don’t like the paperback cover very much, haha).

  2. That’s so cool! You’ll have to tell us all about it. 😀

    You know, I never knew what Birdy’s name was before now….but yeah, if you love Florence Welch and Adele, you’ll like her too! 🙂

    Great picks!

  3. Oh my goodness, you got to meet Stiefvater! That’s amazing. I’m not sure how I’d react, I love her books so much. I’m pretty sure there would be a lot of internal screaming. Not sure if I’d be able to keep them silent for long.

    1. Yes, it was incredible! I just realized I still need to write a post about it––it was an amazing experience. 😀 I was kinda nervous because I didn’t know how to express to her how much I love her books, but I managed to say something mostly-coherent about how I love her characters and she has made me laugh and cry a lot. 😛

Leave a Reply

