I Met Maggie Stiefvater!

This post is coming a little late, but I wanted to tell you all about my experience meeting Maggie Stiefvater the other week! *screams and fangirls* She is currently on her book tour for The Raven King (the final book in the Raven Cycle series), and she happened to stop by Brookline, MA (which is fairly close to where I live), and I was fortunate enough to attend the event––and I’m really happy I was able to reserve tickets for me and my mom, because it sold out in less than five minutes! 😱

In case you didn’t know, Maggie is the author of a bunch of best-selling YA books/series, including The Wolves of Mercy Falls (aka the Shiver trilogy)The Scorpio Races, and The Raven Cycle. And she’s one of my favorite authors ever.

First of all, the talk she gave was so funny. It was almost like a stand-up routine, really. Everyone was just laughing their heads off and it was so much fun. Topics included ugly babies, evil goats, vomiting on airplanes, accidentally posting photos of her boobs on the internet, and setting John Green on fire.

19230706._SY540_
Here she is, pretending to be one of her pet goats attempting to fly off the roof. 

 

After the talk, of course, was the book signing. I was near the end of the line, but I didn’t mind because it gave me more time to pull myself together and decide what on earth I was going to say.

I always feel so intimidated when I meet authors, and as a result I often get tongue-tied. But luckily, Maggie was super friendly, and I managed to say something semi-coherent about how much I love her books and characters. *whew*

19230720._SY540_
!!!!!!!!

 Here is my signed copy of The Raven Boys!

Processed with Rookie Cam

And I also got this lovely “book hugger” which wraps around all four of the Raven Cycle books (with beautiful art by Maggie herself––gosh, how can one person be so talented?!):

Processed with Rookie Cam

It was such an amazing event, and I’m so happy I had the opportunity to meet one of my favorite authors!


 

How about you guys?

  • Have you met any authors?
  • If so, who did you meet? What was the experience like?
  • If not, which author(s) would you most like to meet?
19 thoughts on “I Met Maggie Stiefvater!

  1. WOW HOW EXCITING!!! I’m super happy for you omg I know whenever I meet someone even a little semi famous that I love I start like babbling and gabbing non stop about random stuff and then I have to take a breath and try to remember what in the world I actually wanted to say!! I recently met a band that I love and I totally understand the feeling of waiting in line being a GOOD thing so that I could pull myself together and ask them specific questions. Super excited for you! 🙂

    1. I always have kind of the opposite problem––I freeze up and just can’t say anything, lol. So in this case I’m happy I managed to say something. 😀 Wow that’s awesome! What band did you meet?

      1. I went to the Rock and Worship Roadshow in Feb and met Audio Adrenaline. I have seen them in concert twice. The band members have changed around a lot so I actually had the opportunity to ask them about their former lead singer (I had no idea what happened to him, other than he pretty much lost his voice).

  2. Yes, I remember Maggie being so funny! She talked about playing bagpipes competitively in college and talking to her editor on the phone on an airplane after the flight attendants had told everyone to turn their phones off.

  3. Oh my goodness! You got one of the book wrappy things! I’ve met George. R.R. Martin but tbh it was part of a large crowd and he seemed unenthused about the whole thing and I am too terribly shy to actually be coherent with people I know let along strangers.

    1. Yes, I love it!! I know at some events you only got one if you bought The Raven King, but at the event I went to they were just giving them to everyone, which was awesome. 🙂 Oh wow, it must’ve been really cool to hear George R.R. Martin speak! But yeah, I imagine at this point he’s probably kinda jaded about the whole thing, hahaha.

Leave a Reply

