#TopTenTuesday: Childhood Characters You’d Love to Revisit as Adults

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Check out their blog for future TTT themes, and to link up to your TTT post if you’ve written one.

It’s been quite a while since I participated in TTT, but I love this week’s theme:

Ten Childhood Characters You’d Love To Revisit As Adults (ie a novella or something to see what they grew up to be) — you could always just pick YA characters you’ve read recently you wouldn’t mind revisiting in 10 years or so. Or you could pick 10 characters and guess what you think they’d be doing in 10 years or 20 years. OR you could go the other way and wish for coming of age stories for adult characters you love.

Haha, that’s a lot of options! But I’ve decided to go with the first one: that is, childhood characters I’d be interested to see as adults.

Percy Jackson

28187

At the rate Rick Riordan is cranking out Percy Jackson spin-offs (not that I’m complaining––I’m supposed to get The Hidden Oracle in the mail today and I’m very excited), I imagine I’ll probably get to see this someday. 😛 But anyway, I’m really curious to see what this kid’s adulthood is like. Mostly does he ever get a break?! Because I feel like every time he thinks he’s resolved everything, he’s pulled back into more shenanigans with the gods/monsters/etc. (Also I must know if he and Annabeth get married.)

Matilda

matilda

I probably read this book like ten times as a kid, and I always wanted to be Matilda. She’s so smart and she has telekinetic powers for crying out loud! I’m dying to know what happens when she grows up. I could see her becoming a teacher or something––but also she’s freakishly intelligent and has supernatural abilities … so I could also see her like, becoming a secret agent.

Pippi Longstocking

233714

I always admired how adventurous, independent, and imaginative Pippi is––and also that she’s so deeply empathetic towards everyone she meets. (Not to mention, she’s so strong she can lift a horse above her head––how cool is that?) And I bet those characteristics last into her adulthood. I think it would be really cool to read a story about her as an adult, probably traveling all over the world and meeting/helping lots of people.

Coraline

25acc3c1c7b07bfe6ea9fa64658515f4

*shudders* This poor child. Part of me hopes that she never has to deal with anything scary again––but another part of me thinks it would be interesting to see her still stumbling into more supernatural things as an adult.

Alice

24213

Similarly to Coraline, I wonder if Alice ever has to deal with alternate universes ever again. 😛 I guess there’s some implication that Wonderland is ~just a dream~ but I always believed it was something more than that. So it makes me wonder if, ten years down the road, Alice is still getting sucked into Wonderland from time to time.


How about you guys?

  • Would you also like to see any of the characters I listed as adults?
  • What characters would you add to the list?
  • If you also wrote a TTT post, please post a link and I will check it out!

27 thoughts on “#TopTenTuesday: Childhood Characters You’d Love to Revisit as Adults

  1. Ahhh yes at Percy, Alice and Matilda!!!

    I’m totally hitting myself for not including Alice in my own post (I’m blaming lack of sleep, haha). That is one of my favourite books and there are so many possibilities! I would so be interested in seeing Alice as a woman in her 20s and how she dealt with her time in Wonderland and if she ever went back. I too like to think it was more than just a dream. That book is just so fascinating and layered.

    Also, in my head Percy and Annabeth definitely 100% got married 😀 I like to think their life is a bit more peaceful, but knowing Percy’s luck it’s probably still just as crazy 😂

    1. Yes exactly, it would be so interesting to find out what happened to Alice later on in life! I agree, the book is fascinating on so many levels, and I feel like it leaves a lot of amazing possibilities.

      Oh yes totally, I firmly believe that Percy and Annabeth get married. 😀 If it was actually canon though, that would make my life even better. Lol part of me hopes that they’re still dealing with crazy demigod stuff as adults. I can just see them fighting monsters together forever. ❤

  2. I thought about putting Pippi Longstocking on my list too, but then decided not to.
    I have never read Matilda or Coraline. I may have to find some time to read them someday.

  3. I have no doubt that Percy and Annabeth will get their happily ever after. Those two are just relationship goals. I adore them together. I would love to see how they tackle adulthood. 😀

  4. I would want to see Susan from the Chronicles of Narnia all grown up. There’s a Neil Gaiman short story that talks about her and what her life might have been like after the last book, but I’d be interested to read an “official” version.

  5. gotmybook2

    I think that Pippi is one of those people who will never change. It would be fun to read about her as an elderly lady, still having the same types of adventures and still disconcerting everyone.

    And surely Percy & Annabeth have saved the world enough times and it’s somebody else’s turn now.

Leave a comment